Lewis officially out vs. 49ers

His replacement, Ellerbe, also deactivated

Ayanbadejo will start

November 24, 2011|By Edward Lee

Inside linebacker Ray Lewis will miss the Ravens’ clash with the San Francisco 49ers on Thanksgiving night, marking his second straight absence.

Lewis, who did not play in Sunday’s victory over the Cincinnati Bengals because of an injured toe on his right foot, had practiced on a limited basis in each of the past three days. He had been listed as questionable in the team’s final injury report on Wednesday, but has been deactivated by the Ravens.

Lewis’ replacement on Sunday also won’t play after being scratched. Dannell Ellerbe had been questionable after being limited the past three days by a balky hamstring.

Brendon Ayanbadejo will join Jameel McClain as the defense’s starting inside linebackers. Ayanbadejo’s last start took place on Oct. 4, 2009 against the New England Patriots.

In addition to Lewis and Ellerbe, the team deactivated cornerback Chris Carr (back), defensive tackle Arthur Jones (post-concussion symptoms), outside linebacker Sergio Kindle, rookie running back Anthony Allen (thigh) and wide receiver Tandon Doss.

Safety Haruki Nakamura (thigh), who had been upgraded from limited to full participation Wednesday and was listed as probable, is active.

Wide receiver/kick returner David Reed is also active. He was scratched against the Bengals after fumbling three kick returns in his previous two contests.

For San Francisco, four starters – wide receivers Michael Crabtree (foot) and Braylon Edwards (knee), running back Frank Gore (knee) and right tackle Anthony Davis (ankle) – will play Thursday night.

The 49ers deactivated guards Daniel Kilgore and Mike Person, cornerback Shawntae Spencer, quarterback Scott Tolzien, wide receiver Brett Swain, fullback Bruce Miller and nose tackle Ian Williams.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.