No. 1 Arundel falls to Sherwood in Class 4A volleyball final

November 19, 2011|By Mike Frainie, Special to The Baltimore Sun

COLLEGE PAKR -- Top-ranked Arundel lost its undefeated season and a shot at redemption by falling to Montgomery County’s Sherwood 25-21, 25-19, 25-19 in the Class 4A  title game.

The Wildcats (20-1) lost to the defending-champion Warriors in the state semifinals last year.

Ashlyn Tapley led Arundel with 10 kills and eight digs. Alex Holston, a junior who has orally committed to the University of Florida, led the Warriors (19-0) with 14 kills.

“We watched game tape of [Holston], and we knew when she gets blocked she doesn’t reach well,” Arundel coach Ashley Yuscavage said. “Our goal was to block her, and we didn’t do it very well.”

Arundel took as much as a four-point lead (at 10-6) in the first set, but Sherwood used the serving of Sydney West — who had five straight service points — to take a 21-17 lead. Arundel managed to cut the lead to 23-21, but Sherwood scored the final two points to take the set.

The Wildcats were in the second set — until Holston came alive. With Arundel leading 19-18, the junior had five kills as the Warriors went on a 7-0 run to close out the set. The Wildcats had leads of three points twice in that set.

The Wildcats started the third set in a promising way, tying the score at 9-9. But the Warriors had just too much, outscoring Arundel 16-10 the rest of the way.

“We were a little nervous coming out, and when we got down we didn’t know how to get back up,” Tapley said. “Sherwood was a lot better than they were last year. We’ve come so far this year, but we definitely didn’t play our best game.”

In the Class 1A Championship, Smithsburg of Washington County got 14 kills from Danielle Harbaugh and 19 assists from Sarah Shives to defeat Cecil County’s Perryville, 25-3, 25-13, 25-14. The win is the third consecutive state title for the Leopards.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.