Morgan's Hurt to be honored posthumously

November 18, 2011|From Sun staff reports

Former Morgan State football coach Edward P. Hurt was named the American Football Coaches Association's recipient of the 2011 Trailblazer Award.

The award will be presented posthumously at the AFCA President's Kickoff Luncheon on Jan. 9 at the AFCA Convention in San Antonio. Hurt died in 1989.

The award was created to honor early leaders in football coaching at historically black colleges and universities.

Hurt was hired by Morgan State in 1929, and he became the head football, basketball and track and field coach. In addition, he was the school's athletic director from 1958 to 1970.

During his time there, Hurt's football teams won six national championships and 14 CIAA championships and produced two Pro Football Hall of Famers. The football program completed 11 undefeated seasons, and his 1943 team finished the season without allowing a single point. From 1931 to 1938, Hurt coached the Bears to a 54-game winning streak.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.