Irene disaster declaration expanded to include city and county

October 24, 2011|By Frank D. Roylance, The Baltimore Sun

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has added Baltimore and Baltimore County to the list of 13 Maryland counties eligible for federal disaster assistance in the wake of Hurricane Irene.

FEMA and the Maryland Emergency Management Agency said the federal aid will support local recovery expenditures by state and local governments and some private, non-profit organizations. Eligible work includes the replacement and repair damaged roads, bridges, buildings, utilities, recreation areas and other public facilities.

Federal funds will cover up to 75 percent of the costs, FEMA said. The other jurisdictions declared eligible on Sept. 16 include Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Harford, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, St. Mary's, Talbot, Wicomico and Worcester counties.

Hurricane Irene came ashore on North Carolina's Outer Banks on Aug. 27, then brushed the Maryland beaches before heading north into New Jersey, New York and New England. Heavy rain and wind in Maryland caused 400,000 customers to lose power in Maryland, and Ocean City was evacuated. But the destructive Chesapeake Bay storm surge some feared never happened.

Maryland weather blog: Frank Roylance on meteorology

Sign up for FREE mobile weather alerts

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.