October 13, 2011

David Weeks from Glenelg Country School and the Howard County Arts Council will be honored at the Community Action Council of Howard County's 16th annual Holland Awards Dinner on Oct. 19 at Turf Valley Country Club.

The event is named in honor of the late Rev. John W. Holland who worked to ensure human rights for all people by seeking solutions to problems and obstacles confronting the disadvantaged.

David Weeks from Glenelg Country School will receive the Humanitarian Award. The Howard County Arts Council will be honored with the Service Award for their Head StART in ART partnership with the Ellicott City Head Start Center.

The Kappa Lapha Psi Scholarship Foundation will name a scholarships the William H. Bailey Scholarship, in honor of Bailey who was a dedicated member of the Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity and a Howard County volunteer. Bailey was a board member of the Community Action Council of Howard County and served on the Crime Prevention Advisory board in Howard County. Members of the Board planted a tree in Bailey's memory in front of the Howard County police station.

The Howard County Chamber of Commerce will present the Awards for Chamber Excellence at its annual Signature Event. Winners include: Large Business of the Year, Arbitron; Business Person of the Year, Chip Doetsch (Apple Ford); Small Business of the Year, Pixel Workshop; Entrepreneur of the Year, Matt Baker (Terrapin Adventures); and Government Advocate of the Year, Raj Kudchadkar (BRAC Business Initiative).

Mary Katherine Helm and Emily Horton, both of Ellicott City, have been recognized as National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists. They are seniors at Notre Dame Preparatory School, in Baltimore.

Five members of NAIFA-Carroll/Howard received awards from the Maryland Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors during the annual leadership conference held Sept. 9, at the Lowes Conference Center, in Annapolis.

Harvey Tegeler, professional development chair, received the Professional Development Award; Roger Diehl, Past President of NAIFA-Carroll/Howard received the Gold Membership Award; Brenda Myers, community service chairwoman, received the Kurt Andrews Community Service Award; Steve Aquino, Insurance and Financial Advisors Political Action Committee Chairperson, received the IFAPAC Award; and Karen Palmer, public relations chairwoman, received the State Public Relations Award.

Pictured from left, is (seated) Harvey Tegeler and Roger Diehl, and in the second row, Brenda Myers, Steve Aquino and Karen Palmer.

Elise Liberto, of Ellicott City, has been named a Commended Student in this year's 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program. She is a student at Notre Dame Prep School, in Baltimore.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.