Byrd Stadium to host NCAA men's lacrosse quarterfinals in 2013

Morgan men picked No. 1 in MEAC preseason basketball poll

Coppin third

October 12, 2011|Sports Digest

Men's college lacrosse

Byrd Stadium to host quarterfinals in 2013

The NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee has selected College Park and Indianapolis to serve as hosts for the 2013 Division I men's lacrosse quarterfinals. Byrd Stadium will host games May18, with the rest of the round the next day at Lucas Oil Stadium. The 2013 semifinals and championship will be held in Philadelphia at Lincoln Financial Field from May 25-27.

College basketball

Morgan men picked No. 1 in MEAC; Coppin third

The Morgan State men's basketball team was picked to finish first in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference by the league's coaches and sports information directors. Coppin State finished No. 3 in the poll; senior Michael Harper was selected to the All-MEAC preseason second team.

Loyola: The men's and women's teams will provide a sneak preview at Reitz Arena when they hold their free "Late Night With the Hounds" from 9 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. Oct. 20. Player introductions will begin at 9:30. Prizes include Loyola athletic gear, tickets to a Washington Capitals game, free books for a semester and an iPad.

Et cetera

Pace leads No. 3 Terps past Adelphi in men's soccer, 2-1

Jake Pace scored two second-half goals in 48 seconds to lift the No. 3 Maryland men's soccer team past visiting Adelphi, 2-0, on Tuesday night. The Terps (12-1-1) held the Panthers without a shot in the second half as freshman goalkeeper Keith Cardona earned his first career victory.

More men's college soccer: No. 25 Virginia (8-4-0) scored a pair of goals in the game's first 32 minutes to hand visiting Navy (4-6-3) a 2-0 loss. … St. Mary's (6-7, 2-3 Capital Athletic Conference) earned its first win over Mary Washington since 1981, beating the Eagles, 3-0. The Seahawks have beaten the Eagles (5-5-2, 3-1-1) three times in 40 meetings. … Salisbury moved up one spot to No. 17 in the nation in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Division III Top 25 Poll.

College football: Johns Hopkins (5-0, 4-0 Centennial Conference) is ranked eighth in the Eastern College Athletic Conference Lambert Meadowlands Division III poll.

Laurel Park: Julian Pimentel swept the first three races Tuesday afternoon at Laurel Park on his way to a career-best five winners, moving him into the top spot in the rider standings for the fall meeting. The 30-year-old scored aboard Intensivist ($4.20), Man of Danger ($6.60) and My Prospect City ($3.80) in races 1-2-3 then captured his fourth victory aboard Three Piece Band ($7.60) in the seventh. One race later, Pimentel and Duke of Devon ($40.60) came from way back to take a $29,000 allowance race on the turf course. "This is the first-time I have ever won the first three races on the card," said Pimentel, who reached the 1,000-win plateau last month. "I really couldn't believe Duke of Devon was going to win. We were so far back but when I asked him to run he just took off. It was a terrific finish to a fantastic day." Pimentel has made 17 trips to the winner's circle after 20 live racing days, one more than Horacio Karamanos. Sheldon Russell ranks third with 14. … Rapid Redux was not entered in Saturday's second race, a $17,000 starter allowance test at one mile, when the Laurel Park racing office closed entries for that card Tuesday afternoon. The 5-year-old gelding will attempt to win his 18th straight race at Charles Town on Friday night, according to owner Robert Cole. Rapid Redux has won 17 consecutive starts to move within two of the all-time North American record of 19 straight victories held by Zenyatta and Pepper's Pride.

Bayhawks: Joe Cinosky (Maryland) and midfielder Jeremy Sieverts (McDonogh, Maryland) were traded to the Denver Outlaws for attackman Drew Westervelt (John Carroll).

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.