"Blessing of the Schools" prayer breakfast Aug. 20 in Laurel

Religion notices

August 17, 2011

Prayer breakfast — Side by Side, a nonprofit group that works to strengthen local public schools will hold Blessing of the Schools, Sat., Aug. 20, 9:30 a.m., in the Laurel High School cafeteria, 8000 Cherry Lane. Scheduled for just two days before the first day of school in Prince George's County, the event includes prayers for local schools, teachers, students and their parents. Free breakfast follows. Attendees are invited to bring new school supplies for families in need. 202-710-5555.

GED class — Begins Tue., Sept. 6 and meets Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-8 p.m., through December, 9055 C Maier Road. Sponsored by Transitional Zone Inc., a nonprofit organization, in collaboration with Spread the Word Ministries Church. Another class starts in January. Pastor Ivy Harrison, 301-213-3323 or James Egins, 301-738-4206.

Yard sale — Sponsored by Youth Group of Mount Zion United Methodist Church, Sat., Sept. 10, 8 a.m.-1 p.m., church parking lot, 12430 Scaggsville Road, Highland. $20 for two 9-by-17-foot spaces; $5 for each additional space. To reserve space, contact Elizabeth Blough at Eblough@comcast.net or 301-604-6769. All proceeds from selling spaces benefit youth fellowship at Mount Zion.

New staff — Open Arms at Our Savior Lutheran Church, 13611 Laurel Bowie Road, has a new director, Rachel Clark, who was formerly a lead teacher for a Head Start program in Atwood, Ala. She has also served as an educator and administrator at a Lutheran school in Memphis, Tenn.; holds a Bachelor of Science in early education from Concordia College, in Selma, Ala.; and has child development credentials. The new assistant director, Helen Kasemeyer, has worked at Open Arms for about five years, and retired after 38 years as a hospital administrator for a veterinary practice.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.