Harford County Association of REALTORS Announce 2011 Award Recipients

July 27, 2011

President Fred Archer, Harford County Association of REALTORS® recently announced the 2011 REALTOR® of Year is Arletha (Candy) Myers associated with Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in Bel Air.  The REALTOR® of the Year Award is bestowed upon the REALTOR® in the local association who exemplifies the model member through Real Estate Service to the Community, and the Local, State and National Associations. The purpose of the award is not to honor individuals as "super achievers"; rather it is intended to spotlight those individuals who exemplify the values and ethics of REALTORS®. The REALTOR® of the Year is nominated to the state level and will be selected during the annual conference in Ocean City.


Arletha Myers became licensed and a REALTOR® with HCAR in 2001.  Myers served on multiple committees at the local association since 2003 including RPAC, Scholarships and Awards.  She recently served as a Director on the Board of Directors and has been the driving leader preparing association's Community Service Award for the state level.  Arletha Myers has also recently served as president for the Woman's Council of REALTORS® - Harford County Chapter and the Million Dollar REALTOR® Association of Harford County.  On the state association level Myers has recently served as the WCR State Secretary and currently on the WCR State Governing Board.  She regularly attends the state and national conferences educational sessions to enhance her professional skills and has obtained the Senior Real Estate Specialist (SRES) designation and the At Home with Diversity (AHWD) certification from the National Association of REALTORS®.  Arletha Myers has also advanced her professional skills through many other higher educational training such as the Home From Work Program; Work Force Housing and Freddie Mac Credit Smart.


Myers majored in Business Administration and minored in Psychology at Morgan State University.  She is the mother of three children and grandmother of two.   "Candy loves what she does, her family, friends and people.  She has is a real asset to our association, our industry and our community." said President Fred Archer. 


Additional award recipients recently announced by President Archer were: Distinguished Sales Associate of the Year – Simon Nwaigwe with Long and Foster real Estate; REALTOR® Community Service Award – Louise Costello with Long and Foster Real Estate; Rookie REALTOR® Award – David Harper with Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage; Affiliate of the Year – Patricia Robinson with MBA Mortgage Services; and the Lifetime Achievement Award to Julie Duley with Prudential Carruthers REALTORS®.  The award recipients will be recognized at the HCAR Annual Membership Meeting to be held September 27, 2011 at the Richlin Ballroom.

Harford County Association of REALTORS® is a professional trade association with over 1,200 members, dedicated to the preservation of the right to own, transfer and use real property, and the rights of its members to conduct business.  REALTOR® is a registered collective membership mark which may only be used by those real estate professionals who subscribe to the REALTOR® organization's strict Code of Ethics, and who are members of the National, State and Local REALTOR® organization.                                                                      # # #


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.