Patriot League honors Hollingsworth

Ellicott City's Capra loses in Citi Open qualifier

July 26, 2011|By Sports Digest

Towson football

Patriot League honors Hollingsworth

Former Towson University defensive end Andrew Hollingsworth was selected to the Patriot League's 25th anniversary team. In 2000, Hollingsworth was selected as the Patriot League Player of the Year and Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year. He was also a consensus first team All-American first-team selection. He finished his career as the conference's all-time leader with 43 sacks, which remains a Towson record.

Sunday's Dew Tour

Lasek captures his 10th skateboard vert final

Dundalk native Bucky Lasek made history Sunday night, winning his Dew Tour-record 10th skateboard vert final. The 38-year-old bested some of the biggest names in vert skating, Pierre-Luc Gagnon and Shaun White, in front of the largest skate vert crowd in Dew Tour history at the Pantech Open on the beach in Ocean City. "Words can't explain how I feel right now. I went all last year without a win. To come back this year to win the first stop… in my home state of Maryland, is unbelievable," Lasek said. In BMX vert, Jamie Bestwick scored a 93.75 in his best run of the night to earn the win over Chad Kagy and Simon Tabron, respectively.


Ellicott City's Capra loses in Citi Open qualifier

Madison Brengle defeated Ellicott City native Beatrice Capra, 7-6 (4), 6-7, 6-1, in final-round qualifying Monday at the Citi Open in College Park. Rain delayed the match for nearly two hours midway through the first set. Capra burst onto the pro tennis scene with her run to the third round of the U.S. Open last September, but has had a rough time since. "Right after the U.S. Open, I got injured and then in the beginning of this year I got really sick and couldn't play for two months. I went through a lot of coaching changes," Capra said. "This is probably my worst year yet. But I know if I stay positive and keep working hard, I'm going to come out of this stronger." In other qualifying matches at the first-year Women's Tennis Association International Level event, Alexandra Mueller defeated Asia Muhammed, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6 (5), and Ryoko Fuda beat Kim Grajdek, 6-2, 6-3, 6-0. In first-round action, Varvara Lepchenko beat Sloane Stephens, 4-6, 6-4, 6-3; Yaroslava Shvedova defeated Elena Baltacha, 6-2, 7-6 (5); Virginie Razzano beat Misaki Doi, 6-2, 6-2; and Eleni Daniilidou defeated Heather Watson, 6-4, 6-1.

Josh Barr, The Washington Post

Et Cetera

Dream's McCoughtry gets weekly WNBA honor

Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (St. Frances) was named WNBA Eastern Conference Player of the Week for games played through Thursday. McCoughtry, the 2003 All-Metro Player of the Year, led the Dream to a 2-0 record, averaging 24 points.

More WNBA: The Washington Mystics added forward DeMya Walker to the roster and waived rookies Ta'Shia Phillips and Karima Christmas. Walker has been in the league since 2000 and has career averages of 7.6 points and 3.6 rebounds per game.

Golf: Justin Heimer, a PGA apprentice from Breton Bay Golf & Country Club in Leonardtown, is the leader after the first day of the Callaway Golf Middle Atlantic PGA Assistant Championship at Williamsburg (Va.) National Golf Club. Heimer shot a 5-under-par 67 to lead by one stroke. Heimer's round earned him the Northern Chapter Assistant Championship.

7-on-7 football: Coached by Dunbar's Travis Blackston, the Purple Foxes won the inaugural U.S. Marine Corps—Passing League Maryland. The team defeated the Destroyers, 29-18, in the championship game at Woodlawn, finishing with a 7-0 record.

Orioles: Former shortstop Mike Bordick and longtime head athletic trainer Richie Bancells will be honored at the Orioles Hall of Fame luncheon Aug. 12 at Camden Yards. Bordick will become the 49th inductee into the Orioles Hall of Fame, and Bancells will receive the Herb Armstrong Award given to nonuniformed personnel for distinguished service. Tickets are $50. For information, call Ann Serio at 410-247-2703. The pair will be formally inducted into the Hall in pre-game ceremonies Aug.13.

College honors: Washington College will welcome six new members to its Athletic Hall of Fame on Oct. 22: Ben Harris (basketball, 1998), Jason Paige (lacrosse, 1995), Mandy Paré (field hockey and lacrosse, 1998), John R. Parker (lacrosse, 1955), Paulina Sierra (tennis, 1999) and Danielle Sullivan (swimming, 1998).

From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.