Dew Tour draws a record crowd in Ocean City

July 25, 2011|By Michelle Deal-Zimmerman | The Baltimore Sun

A record 73,000 fans watched athletes compete over four days in The Dew Tour's Pantech Open in Ocean City.

The attendance broke records for the tour, becoming the biggest crowd in the history of the Dew Tour, according to officials from Ocean City and Alli Sports, organizer of the tour.

 Ocean City officials said the weekend population of the Maryland resort town was more than 320,000, up about 7 percent from the corresponding weekend in 2010.

“It was great to see all the families turn out to see these amazing athletes compete,” said Ocean City Mayor Rick Meehan. “We were pleased and proud to host the first stop of the 2011 Dew Tour. Ocean City’s beach and boardwalk provided the perfect backdrop for this thrilling competition.”

Winners of this leg of the tour included Dundalks's own Bucky Lasek, who won a record 10th time in the skateboard vert competition on Sunday, returning to the course after a heavy rain delayed the action.

“Words can’t explain how I feel right now.  I went all last year without a win. To come back this year to win the first stop, the Pantech Open, in my homestate of Maryland, is unbelievable,” said Lasek after the victory.  “I am very blessed to have the friends, family, and sponsors that have backed me for so many years, keeping me skating and pushing the level of my skating.”

Lasek - who at one time had a giant skate bowl built behind his home in Dundalk - came in second in the skatebowl finals on Saturday, getting nudged out of first by 16-year-old Brazilian native Pedro Barros.

Kyle Baldock won the BMX park competition. (The guy who designed the course, Ryan Nyquist, came in third.) Jamie Bestwick, meanwhile, won the BMX vert.

Bestwick thanked the crowds in Ocean City "who really made this a great event."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.