Awards: Some of Columbia's finest

July 22, 2011

The following individuals have been named by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation as the first Howard County's Finest 39 Under 39, presented by Mercedes-Benz of Baltimore:

Joe Alcodray, Mercedes-Benz of Baltimore; Catherine Bedolla, Berkshire Associates; Kelly Bruns, JHU/APL; Laura Clark, Kenneth Clark Company; Tom Coale, Goodell, DeVries, Leech & Dann, LLP; Thomas Cornellier, TSI Exterior Wall Systems; Candace Dodson-Reed, Howard County Government; Paul Duffy, State Farm Insurance; Florian Eyme, dHive; Doug Galeone, The Merchandiser Magazine; Rajiv Goel, Offit Kurman, P.A.; Jack Gunther, General Growth Properties; Ryan Haussmann, The Columbia Bank; Blair Hill, Merrill Lynch; Jeanne Karfonta-King, Jeanne King Weddings; Tim Kelley, Howard Bank; Sean Keyman, Trifecta Industries; Jody Lenes, Include Software; Eric Lewis, BB&T; Jennifer Leyva, Susquehanna Bank; Nisha Majmudar, Star Global Ventures; Tori Marriner, Victoria Gastro Pub; Jeremiah O'Donovan, O'Donovan & Associates; Chris Oxenham, O'Donovan & Associates; Steve Poynot, Howard Bank; Megan Reuwer, The Law Offices of Megan L. Reuwer, PA; Jill Rudnicki, Harbor Magic Hotels; Jahantab Siddiqui, Montgomery County Council; Kristi Simon, Howard County Chamber of Commerce; Sandeep Sokhey, Corporate Office Properties Trust; Heather Swan, Carney, Kelehan, Bresler, Bennett & Scherr; Lisa Swan, The Columbia Bank; Robert Taylor, Ascend One; Kavita Thankrar, Smart CEO; Luis Valdivieso, Howard County Technology and Communication Services; Marshall Weston Jr., Restaurant Association of Maryland; Joseph Zajdel, The Columbia Bank; and Scott Zimmerly, Wood Partners.

Gary J. Arthur, Bob Falk, Paul Goldenberg, Jean Hodges and Louise Waxle have been selected by an 11-member committee to be included in the Howard County Department of Recreation and Parks' 2011 Community Sports Hall of Fame.

The Community Sports Hall of Fame honors outstanding individuals who have gained prominence and/or have made a substantial contribution to community recreational sports in Howard County.

Jennifer Forgnoni, a teacher at Atholton High School, will attend the 18th annual session of the distinguished Maury Project Workshop offered by theU.S.Naval Academy.

The Maury Project is designed to give science teachers and science supervisors an in-depth study of various oceanographic and meteorological subjects including waves, tides, density and wind-driven oceanographic circulations and ocean-atmosphere interactions.

Jamie Dobbins, of Columbia, received the 2011 Stepanek Scholarship from the Georgia Southwestern State University's Rosalynn Carter Institute for Caregiving. Serving as a volunteer to children with disabilities as a teenager, Dobbins met Mattie and Jeni Stepanek while working for Project Assist, a research project at the University of Maryland that provided childcare and respite care for families. Dobbins is a teacher for young children with autism and plans to continue her education by obtaining a master's degree in special education.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.