Volunteer opportunities throughout the county

July 14, 2011

Listings are accepted on a space-available basis. Deadline is 5 p.m. Thursday prior to date of publication at the latest. To submit volunteer items, mail to Volunteers, Patuxent Publishing Co. Editorial, 501 N. Calvert St., Baltimore, MD 21278; email hccalendar@patuxent.com; fax 410-332-6336; or call 410-332-6497.

3rd Annual WomenFest — Hosted by the Howard County Office on Aging, Department of Citizen Services. Seeking vendors and exhibitors for Sept. 15 event. Deadline is July 15. Fax to 410-313-5950 or mail to WomenFest 2011, c/o Donna Tugwell, Howard County Office on Aging, 6751 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 211, Columbia, MD 21046. Courtney Barkley, 410-313-5957 or cbarkley@howardcountymd.gov.

Volunteer Center Serving Howard County — Hosting monthly disaster volunteer information and orientation sessions to inform community members on how to plan, prepare and effectively serve in times of disaster to improve community preparedness and resiliency. Each session will identify local response agencies and inform participants on how they can prepare and train to volunteer effectively after a disaster. Sessions will be held on July 26, Aug. 18 and Sept. 7; 6:30-7:30 p.m., Columbia Association Headquarters, 10221 Wincopin Circle, Columbia. http://www.volunteerhoward.org. 410-715-3179 or Pam@VolunteerHoward.org to reserve a seat.

Towson University Electronic Media and Film Class — Seeking arts or nonprofit groups as clients for a free service learning HD video production course this fall. Dr. Dave Reiss, dreiss@towson.edu.

Centennial High School — Seeking volunteers to answer phones, take messages, sort mail and help with mailings in the school office during the summer. Through Aug. 19, 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Flexible dates and times. Flo Airey, 410-313-2856 or florence_airey@hcpss.org.

Long Reach High School — Seeking volunteers to answer telephones, greet and direct visitors, and other light office work in the school office during the summer. Through Aug. 19, 9:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Flexible dates and times. Kathy Baker, 410-313-7117 or kbaker@hcpss.org.

The Arc of Howard County — Seeking volunteers to help with the water stations and as road marshals at the Iron Girl Triathalon, Aug. 22. Therese Dalrymple, tdalrymple!@archoward.org.

Hollifield Station Elementary School — Seeking volunteers to support students in grades K-5 with reinforcement activities in reading and/or math.Training provided. Flexible dates and times. Lisa Booth, 410-313-2550 or lisa_booth@hcpss.org.

Ilchester Elementary School — Seeking volunteers to help in the media center shelving books and other activities. Kathryn Gillard, kathryn_gillard@hcpss.org, or Karen Jakubek, 410-313-2524 or karen_jakubek@hcpss.org.

Oakland Mills High School — Seeking volunteers to answer telephones, greet and direct visitors, and other light office work in the school office during the summer months. Flexible dates and times. Vernette Jackson, 410-313-6945.

Howard County Conservancy — Seeking Wednesday morning drop-in gardening volunteers to help maintain the many thematic and native plant gardens on the Conservancy property. All levels of experience are welcome. Chris Garbart, 410-465-8877 or chris.garbart@hcconservancy.org.

Oakland Mills Community Association — Seeking vendors for the annual Cultural Arts Festival, held Oct. 15, 11 a.m.-4 p.m., in the Oakland Mills Village Center. Food/beverage, arts and crafts, nonprofits, Howard County political candidates and commercial vendors are all welcome. Reasonable rates. http://www.oaklandmills.org. 410-730-4610 or omcaadmin@columbiavillages.org.

Columbia Association's Middle School and Teen Advisory Committees — Seeking students, ages 11-19, to become members of the committees and who want to make a difference, get involved in their community and be an integral part of the solution while having fun and making new friends. As members of the committee, teens can create and implement events and programs for their peers. Past activities have included Teen Idol Competition, Teen Role Model Competition, Battle of the Dance, charity fundraisers, Teen Tuesdays concerts at the lakefront, a free college fair, Save the Planet Day and more. Teen Advisory Committee members, ages 13-19, must attend meetings every other Thursday, 6:30-7:30 p.m., at CA Headquarters. Middle School Advisory Committee members, ages 11-13, must attend meetings once a month on a Wednesday, 6:30-7:30 p.m., at CA Headquarters. Carol Wasser, 410-715-5523.

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.