Navy to play ACC team in Military Bowl

Terps women get transfer Rutan

Gavin honored

May 27, 2011|By From Sun staff reports

Navy will play an Atlantic Coast Conference opponent in the 2011 Military Bowl on Dec. 28 at 4:30 p.m. at RFK Stadium in Washington.

The game, which is presented by Northrop Grumman and benefits the USO, will be televised by ESPN.

The Midshipmen played in the inaugural bowl game in 2008 — then called the EagleBank Bowl — losing to Wake Forest, 29-19.

"Last year we rebranded the bowl game to better reflect the game's mission of recognizing and supporting our nation's military, so we're especially pleased to have the Naval Academy scheduled for the game at RFK Stadium this year," said Erik A. Moses, managing director of the Washington Convention and Sports Authority's Sports, Entertainment and Special Events Division.

In last year's game, Maryland beat East Carolina, 51-20, before an announced 38,794.

Women's basketball: Katie Rutan, a 5-foot-8 shooting guard from Xavier, is transferring to Maryland, Terps coach Brenda Frese announced.

Rutan played two seasons at Xavier, shooting nearly 40 percent from beyond the 3-point line.

She averaged nearly 8.0 points per game as a Musketeer and was an Atlantic-10 All-Rookie selection as a freshman.

By NCAA rules, Rutan will practice, but not play during the 2011-12 season. She will then be a redshirt junior in the 2012-13 season.

Women's lacrosse: Loyola senior Grace Gavin was named co-Attacker of the Year after setting a single-season school record with 71 goals.

The rest of the team follows: attackers Ashley Bruns, Florida, sophomore; Kitty Cullen, Florida, sophomore; Jasmine DePompeo, Navy, sophomore; Corey Donohoe, North Carolina, senior; Leslie Foard, Stanford, senior; Taylor Frink, Albany, senior; Emma Hamm, Duke, junior; Jackie Lyons, UMass, senior; Sarah Mollison, Maryland, senior; Shannon Smith, Northwestern, junior; midfielders Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh, senior; Grace Golden, William & Mary, senior; Kristin Igoe, Boston College, senior; Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State, junior; Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, sophomore; Kat Thomas, Duke, junior; Taylor Thornton, Northwestern, sophomore; Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina, junior; defenders Lindsey deButts, Princeton, junior; Katie Gallagher, Maryland, senior; Mia Hurrin, North Carolina, senior; Colleen Magarity, Northwestern, senior; and goalies Brittany Dipper, Maryland, junior; and Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth, freshman. …

The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association announced its Division I regional All-Americans. Maryland's Mollison, Schwarzmann, Laura Merrifield, Dipper and Gallagher were named to the South Region first team while Iliana Sanza made the second team. Navy's DePompeo also earned second-team honors.

In the Mid-Atlantic region, Loyola's Gavin, Ana Heneberry, Abby Rehfuss and Kerry Stoothoff were named to the first team along with Towson's Alexa Demski and Johns Hopkins' Alyssa Kildare and Colleen McCaffrey. Loyola's Kellye Gallagher and Marlee Paton earned second-team honors along with Towson's Jess Dunn, Johns Hopkins' Candace Rossi and Taylor D'Amore and UMBC's Alicia Krause.

Men's lacrosse: The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association named Johns Hopkins midfielder John Ranagan and faceoff specialist Matt Dolente to its All-America first team.

The rest of the team: attackmen Jeremy Boltus, Army; Rob Pannell, Cornell; Steele Stanwick, Virginia; midfielders Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook; David Earl, Notre Dame; Roy Lang, Cornell; long-pole midfielders Brian Karalunas, Villanova; Joel White, Syracuse; defensemen Max Feely, Cornell; John Lade, Syracuse; Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame; and goalie John Galloway, Syracuse.

The second team was attackmen Billy Bitter, North Carolina, Stephen Keogh, Syracuse; Mark Matthews, Denver; midfielders Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame, Colin Briggs, Virginia; Jovan Miller, Syracuse; Justin Turri, Duke; long-pole midfielder Brian Farrell, Maryland; faceoff specialist Tim Fallon, Hartford; defensemen Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins; Ryan Flanagan, North Carolina; Brett Schmidt, Maryland; and goalie Pierce Bassett, Johns Hopkins.

The third team was attackman Nicky Galasso, North Carolina; Zach Howell, Duke; Jordan McBride, Stony Brook; Ryan Young, Maryland; midfielders Joseph Cummings, Maryland; Chris LaPierre, Virginia; Thomas Schreiber, Princeton; Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse; long-pole midfielder CJ Costabile, Duke; faceoff specialist RG Kenan, North Carolina; defensemen William Henderson, Army; Tom Montelli, Duke; Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton; and goalie Tyler Fiorito, Princeton.

Men's basketball: Darryl Butler, who was associate head coach the past four years at Frederick Community College, was named assistant coach by Virginia State. In 2009-10, Frederick won its first Region XX championship. …

Ex-Duke point guard Greg Paulus, an assistant coach at Navy in 2010-11, was named video coordinator for Ohio State.

Baseball: Maryland signed four players: Calvert Hall outfielder Matt Bosse, Loyola outfielder A.J. Lardo and left-handed pitchers Robert Galligan of Oyster Bay Cove, N.Y., and Cam Hatch of Vernon, Conn.

Lardo is the second-ranked player in Maryland by Perfect Game USA and joins the following Terps commitments among the site's top six players: Will Bouey, Shane Campbell (Kenwood), KJ Hockaday (John Carroll) and Bobby Ruse (C.Milton Wright).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.