Loyola's Gavin wins national Attacker of the Year honor

Ranagan, Dolente among men's first-team All-Americans

May 27, 2011

Loyola senior Grace Gavin was named WomensLax.com co-Attacker of the Year after setting a single-season school record with 71 goals.

The rest of the team follows: attackers Ashley Bruns, Florida, sophomore; Kitty Cullen, Florida, sophomore; Jasmine DePompeo, Navy, sophomore; Corey Donohoe, North Carolina, senior; Leslie Foard, Stanford, senior; Taylor Frink, Albany, senior; Emma Hamm, Duke, junior; Jackie Lyons, UMass, senior; Sarah Mollison, Maryland, senior; Shannon Smith, Northwestern, junior; midfielders Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh, senior; Grace Golden, William & Mary, senior; Kristin Igoe, Boston College, senior; Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State, junior; Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland, sophomore; Kat Thomas, Duke, junior; Taylor Thornton, Northwestern, sophomore; Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina, junior; defenders Lindsey deButts, Princeton, junior; Katie Gallagher, Maryland, senior; Mia Hurrin, North Carolina, senior; Colleen Magarity, Northwestern, senior; and goalies Brittany Dipper, Maryland, junior; and Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth, freshman. …

The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association announced its Division I regional All-Americans. Maryland's Mollison, Schwarzmann, Laura Merrifield, Dipper and Gallagher were named to the South Region first team while Iliana Sanza made the second team. Navy's DePompeo also earned second-team honors.

In the Mid-Atlantic region, Loyola's Gavin, Ana Heneberry, Abby Rehfuss and Kerry Stoothoff were named to the first team along with Towson's Alexa Demski and Johns Hopkins' Alyssa Kildare and Colleen McCaffrey. Loyola's Kellye Gallagher and Marlee Paton earned second-team honors along with Towson's Jess Dunn, Johns Hopkins' Candace Rossi and Taylor D'Amore and UMBC's Alicia Krause.

Men's lacrosse: The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association named Johns Hopkins midfielder John Ranagan and faceoff specialist Matt Dolente to its All-America first team.

The rest of the team: attackmen Jeremy Boltus, Army; Rob Pannell, Cornell; Steele Stanwick, Virginia; midfielders Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook; David Earl, Notre Dame; Roy Lang, Cornell; long-pole midfielders Brian Karalunas, Villanova; Joel White, Syracuse; defensemen Max Feely, Cornell; John Lade, Syracuse; Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame; and goalie John Galloway, Syracuse.

The second team was attackmen Billy Bitter, North Carolina, Stephen Keogh, Syracuse; Mark Matthews, Denver; midfielders Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame, Colin Briggs, Virginia; Jovan Miller, Syracuse; Justin Turri, Duke; long-pole midfielder Brian Farrell, Maryland; faceoff specialist Tim Fallon, Hartford; defensemen Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins; Ryan Flanagan, North Carolina; Brett Schmidt, Maryland; and goalie Pierce Bassett, Johns Hopkins.

The third team was attackman Nicky Galasso, North Carolina; Zach Howell, Duke; Jordan McBride, Stony Brook; Ryan Young, Maryland; midfielders Joseph Cummings, Maryland; Chris LaPierre, Virginia; Thomas Schreiber, Princeton; Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse; long-pole midfielder CJ Costabile, Duke; faceoff specialist RG Kenan, North Carolina; defensemen William Henderson, Army; Tom Montelli, Duke; Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton; and goalie Tyler Fiorito, Princeton.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.