Education Notices

May 24, 2011

Loch Raven student nets National Merit Scholarship

Rohan Goswami of Towson is one of three Baltimore County Public Schools students to be named National Merit Scholarship winners.

Goswami, who attends Loch Raven High School, is interested in a business career.

Other winners from Baltimore County are Osman Ulug of Halethorpe, who attends Western School of Technology and wants to pursue a career in engineering; and Kenna O'Rourke of Sparks, who attends Hereford High School and plans to become a writer.

Ulug and O'Rourke won single-payment $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Goswami is one of 1,000 scholars to be awarded a corporate-sponsored scholarship. His award, a National Merit Mary E. Beyerle Scholarship, was awarded to students from Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and range in amounts from $500 to $10,000 per year, and are generally renewable throughout a student's undergraduate career.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, semifinalists had to submit a detailed scholarship application, included writing an essay and providing information about extracurricular activities, awards and leadership positions.

Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by a school official and earn SAT scores that confirmed their qualifying test performance.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.