Report: QB Smith leaving Terps for Elon after freshman year

Frostburg State falls to Franklin, 3-2, in NCAA Mideast Regional

May 19, 2011|By Sports Digest

Maryland football

Report: QB Smith leaves Terps for Elon after freshman year

Maryland's quarterback depth chart got a little bit thinner after spring practice. The Times-News of Burlington, N.C., reported Sunday that Tyler Smith, who redshirted last fall as a freshman for the Terps, is transferring to Elon. Bret Comp, Smith's coach at Wilson Area High in Easton, Pa., told the Times-News that Smith considered Elon and two other programs: Delaware, a perennial powerhouse in the Football Championship Subdivision, the same level in which Elon plays, and Division II Millersville (Pa.). "Those were the only three out of his mouth," Comp said. "But there was no need to pursue anything else. He was ecstatic about Elon." Because Smith is transferring down a level to the FCS, he will be eligible to compete this fall. Smith's departure leaves Maryland with just two scholarship quarterbacks in returning starter Danny O'Brien and backup C.J. Brown. Redshirt freshman Devin Burns was recruited as a quarterback, but switched to wide receiver in the spring.

Et cetera

Frostburg St. falls to Franklin, 3-2, in Mideast Regional

No. 5 Frostburg State had the tying run on base in the ninth inning but fell, 3-2, to No. 4 Franklin in the Division III Mideast Regional tournament on Wednesday morning. The Bobcats (28-14) were scheduled to face No. 1 Marietta on Wednesday night in the last game of the first day of the tournament.

More baseball: 2009 Washington College graduate Greg Perret, an infielder, signed with the Carlsbad Bats of the Pecos League, a first-year professional league in New Mexico and Texas.

College softball: UMBC outfielder Julia Culotta and third baseman Jessica Warner were selected to the America East All-Championship team.

Women's college lacrosse: Delaware senior attacker Corrine Drost (Hereford) was tabbed as the Janet Smith Grit Award winner at the team's awards banquet, while junior defender Grace Wills (St. Paul's) was given the Sportsmanship Award.

Men's college golf: Towson seniors John Duthie and Nyasha Mauchaza were named All-Colonial Athletic Association.

Women's college outdoor track and field: Navy sophomore Brigid Byrne was named to the Patriot League All-Academic team.

Men's college outdoor track and field: Navy junior Cody Rome was named to the Patriot League All-Academic team. … Senior thrower Ja'Mar Watson (Glenelg) was honored as the Liberty League Field Performer of the Week.

Loyola volleyball: Coach Scott Pennewill resigned to pursue other opportunities. Pennewill compiled a 37-63 record in three seasons, including a 14-20 mark in 2010.

Mystics: The team will host a tipoff event for its annual Mystics Youth Summer League for females ages 10 to 18 on Saturday from 10 a.m. to noon at the Turkey Thicket Recreation Center in Washington. The event will include a skills clinic and coaches clinic, and conclude with an autograph session and raffle. The entire Washington Mystics team as well as general manager and coach Trudi Lacey will assist with the clinics. MYSL participants will receive a reversible jersey along with a complimentary ticket to see the Mystics take on the Chicago Sky on Aug. 20. MYSL championship games will take place during pregame and postgame of the Aug. 20 contest at Verizon Center. … The team waived guard Maurita Reid and forward Sequoia Holmes.

D.C. United: The club's Youth Academy compiled a 2-5-1 overall record last weekend against FC Delco and PA Classics. The U-14 and U-15 clubs played at home, while United's under-16 and U-18 sides traveled to Pennsylvania for their matches. The U-15 team defeated FC Delco and earned a draw with PA Classics. Two goals from Heynar Pajaro and one from Christian Najar led the U-15's past FC Delco, 2-1, on Saturday.

Capitals: Defenseman Zach Miskovic has been signed to a contract for 2011-12. … The team's "Caps Red Line" TV show has been nominated for a 2010 Emmy Award by the National Capital Chesapeake Bay Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The 53rd Emmy Awards will be held June 25 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Washington.

—From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.