Schwarzmann, Mollison, Gavin among 5 Tewaaraton Award finalists

Retired female jockeys to vie in second Lady Legends race at Pimlico on Friday

May 18, 2011|By Sports Digest

Women's college lacrosse

Schwarzmann, Mollison, Gavin among Tewaaraton finalists

Maryland sophomore midfielder Katie Schwarzmann, Terps senior attacker Sarah Mollison and Towson senior midfielder-attacker Grace Gavin are among five finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, as announced by the Greater Washington Sporting Alliance. The award is given annually to the nation's top performer in men's and women's college lacrosse; it will be awarded June 2 at a reception in Washington. The other two finalists are Northwestern's Shannon Smith and Duke's Emma Hamm.

Pimlico Race Course

Retired female jockeys to vie in second Lady Legends race

An elite group of retired champion female jockeys returns to Pimlico on Friday to compete in the Lady Legends for the Cure Race II at Pimlico Race Course. Seventh on a 13-race card (post time 3:05 p.m.) anchored by the Grade 2 $250,000 Black-Eyed Susan Stakes, the Lady Legends race is part of The People's Pink Party, a joint effort between Pimlico and Susan G. Komen for the Cure to help raise money and awareness in the fight against breast cancer. Seventy-five percent of the funds raised will go to the Komen Maryland Affiliate to use for community outreach programs in Maryland. The remaining 25 percent will go toward breast cancer research. Seven of the Lady Legends return from last year: Mary Wiley-Wagner, Patti "PJ" Cooksey, Andrea Seefeldt-Knight, Barbara Jo Rubin, Mary Russ-Tortora, Cheryl White and Jennifer Rowland Small. They are joined this year by Abby Fuller. Last year's winner, Gwen Jocson, tore ligaments in her hand while exercising horses over the winter and will not be able to defend her title. Wiley-Wagner is named on 9-5 morning-line favorite Mass Destruction in the $31,000 optional claiming allowance at six furlongs on the main track for 3-year-olds and up.


Baltimore native Daue to be honored at '19th Hole' event

Special Olympics Maryland announced today that Baltimore native Ray Daue has been selected as the recipient of the inaugural "Heart of the Cup" Volunteer of the Year Award, which will be presented next Wednesday at a fundraising dinner featuring golfing legend Arnold Palmer and CBS broadcaster Jim Nantz titled "The 19th Hole: An Intimate Evening with Arnold Palmer and Jim Nantz." Daue's legacy will be highlighted during the program, ending with the presentation of the award by Palmer. Daue, senior vice president for Willis of Maryland, has been doing charity work through golf for 34 years. In that time, it is estimated that Daue has helped to raise $10 million collectively for a variety of nonprofits.

Et cetera

Wizards receive sixth overall pick in NBA draft lottery

The Washington Wizards received the sixth overall pick in the NBA draft during Tuesday's draft lottery in Secaucus, N.J. The Wizards were slotted to pick in the fourth spot before the unveiling of the draft order. The team has held the sixth overall pick four times before in franchise history, selecting Jerry Sloan in 1965, Mel Turpin in 1984, Tom Gugliotta in 1992 and Calbert Cheaney in 1993. The draft will take place at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J., on June 23 at 7p.m.

Pro Volleyball: The National Volleyball League and 32 of its top teams will compete this weekend in a tournament at Preakness InfieldFest. Preliminary rounds take place Friday at Baltimore Beach's Rash Field before the top men's and women's teams move on to compete for $75,000 in the semifinals and finals Saturday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the Pimlico infield. The first serve of the men's final is at 2 p.m., and the women's starts at 3:30 p.m.

Bowie State: Andrew "A.C." Jordan, a teacher, coach and athletic director at then-Bowie State College, died Monday in Lexington, Va. Jordan was instrumental in bringing football back to Bowie State. The facility in which the school's volleyball and basketball teams play was named A.C. Jordan Arena in his honor in 1991. Funeral services will be held Saturday at 11 a.m. at First Baptist Church, 103 N. Main St., Lexington.

Maryland field hockey: Seven current and former Maryland field hockey players will participate in USA Field Hockey's High Performance national championships this week at American University. Brianna Davies, Maxine Fluharty, Ali McEvoy, Katie O'Donnell, assistant coach Dina Rizzo, Jill Witmer and Melissa Vassalotti will all be playing on the Mid-Atlantic squad, coached by Maryland associate head coach Tjerk Van Herwaarden. Top field hockey athletes in the United States will compete on six regional teams for a spot on the national team roster. The five other regions are California, New England, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and the South. There will be six matches, including the finals May 27 at 6 p.m. After the championship match, names selected to represent the U.S. women's national team will be announced.

College baseball: UMES senior designated hitter Bryan Chaikowsky and sophomore outfielder Tre-von Johnson of East New Market were named to the All-Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference first and second teams, respectively.

St. Mary's women's basketball: Crystal Gibson was named coach.

—From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.