Stevenson defeats Cabrini, 13-8

May 14, 2011|By From Sun Staff Reports

Neal Barthelme (Dulaney) scored six goals, including three in the third quarter, to lead the Stevenson men's lacrosse team to a 13-8 win over visiting Cabrini in the second round of the NCAA Division III tournament on Saturday.

The Mustangs move on to the quarterfinals, where they will host Roanoke on Wednesday.

Stevenson had a six-goal lead early in the third quarter, but a 5-2 run by the Cavaliers closed the gap to 11-8 with 11:34 left in the game. The Mustangs put the game away with two goals in the final 4:58.

Jimmy Dailey (Winters Mill) finished the game with three assists and has 58 for the season, surpassing the school record of 55 set by Eric Schmith in 1988.

Ian Bolland made 11 saves while earning his first career NCAA tournament victory and improving his record to 20-2 as a starter.

Salisbury 12, Endicott 8: Matt Cannone had four goals to lead the Sea Gulls past the visiting Gulls. Salisbury will face Dickinson in the quarterfinals on Wednesday.

The Sea Gulls had a 6-1 lead nine minutes into the game, but Endicott pulled to within one with 2:26 to play in the third quarter. Salisbury then went on a 4-1 run to finish the game, with Sam Bradman scoring all three of his goals in that stretch.

RIT 13, Denison 12, OT: Kelso Davis scored his sixth goal of the game with 1:41 left in overtime to lift the Tigers over the Big Red. RIT advances to host Amherst in the quarterfinals on Wednesday.

Denison had a chance to win the game in overtime, but a shot by Tanner Smith hit the post. Ian Dominick (Mount St. Joseph) came up with the loose ball, ran through the midfield and fed Iric Bressler in the offensive zone. Bressler dumped the ball down to Davis, who fired in the game-winner.

Roanoke 15, Gettysburg 9: Joey Coretti scored four goals and Charles Pease made 18 saves as the Maroons topped the visiting Bullets.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.