Baltimore Sun named newspaper of the year by MDDC

For second year in a row, paper is named the region's best among those with a circulation over 75,000

April 22, 2011|By Chris Kaltenbach, The Baltimore Sun

For the second straight year, The Baltimore Sun has been named newspaper of the year in the annual Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association awards contest.

The Sun won 39 first- or second-place awards in the editorial contest among papers with a circulation of 75,000 or more; The Washington Post won 22. Of those, The Sun won 10 "Best of Show" awards, including nods for staff coverage of spot news (the resignation of Mayor Sheila Dixon), sports story (2010 Preakness), special section (the 10th anniversary of the Ravens' Super Bowl victory) and general website excellence.

"Best of Show" awards are given for excellence among all contending newspapers, regardless of circulation.

Individual Best of Show awards were given to Sun reporters Justin Fenton (public service, for articles on the questioning of Baltimore's rape statistics), Childs Walker (education, for an article on an Iraq War veteran's efforts to be allowed back into the Community College of Baltimore County) and Timothy B. Wheeler (growth and land use, "No easy solution for septic on Shore"). An award for online commentary or blog was given to Fenton and Peter Hermann, while design awards went to Peter Dishal (Page 1 Design) and Anthony Conroy (Feature Page Design).

The Sun also won eight first- or second-place awards in the advertising categories.

The Sun's first-place editorial winners were:

•Spot News: Sun staff, for "Dixon resigns"

•Public Service: Justin Fenton, for "City rape statistics questioned"

•Election Coverage, Julie Bykowicz, for "GOP tide: A blue state's red underbelly"

•General News Photo: Lloyd Fox, for "Naval Academy graduate"

•Spot News Photo: Barbara Haddock Taylor, for "Police officer killed"

•Sports Photo: Karl Merton Ferron, for "Touchdown catch"

•Sports Story: Sun staff, for "Preakness 2010."

•Education: Childs Walker, for "A fight for freedom"

•Arts/Entertainment Reporting: Jill Rosen, for "Coating Baltimore in a message of love"

•Growth and Land Use: Timothy B. Wheeler, for "No easy solution for septic on Shore"

•Special Section: Sports staff, for "Ravens Super Bowl 10th anniversary"

•Page 1 Design: Peter Dishal, for "Snowed out"

•Feature Page Design: Anthony Conroy, for "Old school"

•Multimedia Storytelling — News: Sun staff, for coverage of the Hopkins hospital shooting

•Online commentary or blog: Justin Fenton and Peter Hermann, for "Baltimore Crime Beat"

•General Website Excellence: Sun staff, for

    Baltimore Sun Articles
    Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.