Girls basketball coaches make their picks

April 06, 2011|By Carol Gralia

The Howard County girls basketball coaches met this week to make their all-county selections.

Oakland Mills junior guard  Jasmine Hill was chosen Player of the Year. Glenelg coach Don Beall, whose team won the county and District V championship, was named Coach of the Year.

Named to the coaches’ teams were:
First team
Sam Heisig, Glenelg, sophomore, guard

Kara Hight, Oakland Mills, junior, guard

Emily Russo, Glenelg, sophomore, guard

Bridgette Snyder, Atholton, senior, guard

Simone Wise, Howard, senior, guard
 Second team
 Kenitra Alston, Centennial, senior, guard

Joy Blackson, Mt. Hebron, senior, forward

Rakia Bryant, Reservoir, senior, forward

Alauna Jackson, Howard, junior, center

Kelly Jones, Mt. Hebron, junior, guard

Kayla Kelly, Centennial, senior, guard
 Honorable mention
Alexis Briscoe, Long  Reach, junior, forward
Danielle Burris, Glenelg, junior, guard
Brittany Butler, Howard, junior, guard
Abbey DeFeo, River Hill, senior, guard
Rebecca Fath, Marriotts Ridge, senior, guard
Kiana Richards, Wilde Lake, senior, guard
Imani Sanders, Long Reach, freshman, guard
Emily Smoot, Reservoir, senior, guard/forward
Megan Sterling, River Hill, sophomore, guard
Brianna Taylor, Oakland Mills, senior, guard
Look for the Columbia Flier/Howard County Times girls all-county teams, story (and season-ending statistics) in the April 7 issue.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.