Blast dominates MISL postseason awards

Kelly wins Coach of the Year, while Morris and Sagu are named top defender and goalkeeper, respectively

March 23, 2011|By Glenn Graham, The Baltimore Sun

The Major Indoor Soccer League announced its postseason individual awards Wednesday, and the Blast came away with three honors.

Coach Danny Kelly was voted the MISL Coach of the Year, Pat Morris was chosen the league's Defender of the Year and Sagu was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

The Blast, which finished in first place in the regular season with a 15-5 mark, will host the MISL championship game when it meets the Milwaukee Wave at 7:35 p.m. Friday at 1st Mariner Arena.

In five-plus years as Blast coach, Kelly has a 76-47 mark during the regular season and is 10-4 in the postseason, leading the team to three championships.

Morris, a longtime defender for the now-defunct Philadelphia KiXX and the Blast's prized offseason acquisition, responded with a stellar season at both ends of the field. The 10-time All-League performer finished the regular season with 16 goals and six assists.

Sagu, in his seventh season with the Blast, led the league with 14 wins and finished second with a 9.64 points-against average. He also was named top goalkeeper in the 2007-08 and 2008-09 seasons with the Blast.

On Thursday afternoon, the Blast will have a pep rally downtown at Hopkins Plaza beginning at noon with live music, food and a chance to meet the players.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.