Roundup: Loyola men fall to Rider, 82-70

February 17, 2011

Danny Stewart pulled down 15 rebounds and scored 12points to lead Rider past Loyola, 82-70, Wednesday night.

Mike Ringgold scored 14 points, Jonathon Thompson and Anthony Myles each scored 12, Novar Gadson added 11 and Brandon Penn 10 for the Broncs (19-9, 11-5 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference).

Rider led 39-31 at halftime after shooting 46.2 percent from the field (12-for-26) and 11-for-12 from the free-throw line (91.7 percent) in the opening half.

The Greyhounds (13-13, 9-7) forced 21 turnovers, leading to 27 points, but shot just 29-for-79 from the field (36.7 percent), including 2-for-20 from 3-point range (10 percent).

Shane Walker scored 16 points and grabbed 11 rebounds for Loyola, which outrebounded the Broncs 43-38 and outscored them in the paint 48-36.

The Greyhounds' Erik Etherly also had 16 points and Robert Olson and J'hared Hall added 11 points apiece.

Holy Cross 72, Navy 61: Devin Brown (City) scored 32 points to power the host Crusaders (6-19, 5-6 Patriot League) past the Midshipmen (9-18, 4-7).

Brown reached the 30-point mark for the second time this season, while leading the team in scoring for the seventh straight game. Jordan Sugars had 19 points for Navy.

The game was close for most of a first half that featured two ties and five lead changes.

The Crusaders led 8-5 before a 10-2 spurt put Navy in front by five. The score would eventually be tied at 25-25 with 3:46 left in the half, when the Mids used a 7-0 run to go up 32-25 at intermission.

Navy 73, Holy Cross 68, OT: Cassie Consedine scored a game-high 23 points and the host Midshipmen (15-10, 8-3 Patriot) outscored the Crusaders (9-17, 5-6) by 13-8 in overtime to win.

Holy Cross outscored Navy 32-28 in the first half, and the Mids had the same advantage in the second half.

—From Sun news services and staff reports

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.