Newton tops awards list

December 10, 2010

Auburn quarterback Cam Newton began his trophy haul Thursday night during the College Football Awards at Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Newton received the Walter Camp Award, which honors the college football player of the year.

He also won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback and the Maxwell Award as the nation's best all-around player.

Newton's opponent in the BCS title game, Oregon's LaMichael James, won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's best running back.

Other major award-winners: LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson, the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's best defensive back and the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's best defensive player; Clemson defensive end Da'Quan Bowers, the Bronko Nagurski Trophy for the nation's outstanding defensive player; Auburn's Nick Fairley, the Rotary Lombardi Award for the outstanding lineman; and Wisconsin's Gabe Carimi, the Outland Trophy as the nation's top interior lineman.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.