Loyola boys beat Coppin Academy, 61-47

McDonogh advances in Eagle Classic

Mount de Sales girls defeat Severn

December 04, 2010|By From Sun Staff Reports

The Loyola basketball team continued its winning ways — minus the nail-biting — beating visiting Coppin Academy, 61-47, on Friday.

The Dons (2-0) started their season Wednesday with a hard-fought 42-39 win over Archbishop Curley, defeating the Friars in a season opener for the second straight year.

The Dons also defeated Curley, 46-38, on Nov. 30, 2009.

Dan Vigus scored 14 points and Mitch Cross had 13 for Loyola. Josh Adeyey had a game-high 29 points for the Eagles (0-1).

The Dons cruised and built a 31-17 halftime lead. Loyola next hosts Cristo Rey Jesuit at 6 p.m. Tuesday.

McDonogh 61, Chapelgate Christian 48: The Eagles (2-0) used a full-court press in the third quarter to break open the game in the opening round of the Eagle Classic at Annapolis Area Christian School.

McDonogh took a 21-20 lead at the half when Robby Weingart (16 points) scored with two seconds left. B.J. Andrews had 17 points and Kayel Locke had 16 for the Eagles.

Nathan Frierson led all scorers with 18 points for the Yellow Jackets (4-2).

McDonogh advances to today's championship versus host Annapolis Area Christian School, a 66-48 winner over St. John's-Catholic Prep, at 7 p.m.; Chapelgate plays the Vikings in the consolation game at 4 p.m.


Mount de Sales 47, Severn 30: Mary Kate Facchina made three 3-pointers and Hannah Schmidt pulled down 12 rebounds controlling the middle for the visiting Sailors (1-0).

The Admirals fell to 1-1. Mount de Sales led, 30-18, at the half.

Coppin Academy 34, Bryn Mawr 31: DeJhonnae Cannady had a double double with 19 points and 11 rebounds to lead the host Eagles to a win in their first game of the season against the Mawrtians (0-1).

Sheborah Miller displayed toughness on defense as she came away with four steals

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.