Halladay wins NL Cy Young

November 17, 2010

Phillies right-hander Roy Halladay was a unanimous selection on Tuesday as the NL Cy Young Award winner.

Halladay became the 13th unanimous choice in the NL, as he placed first on all 32 ballots cast by two writers from each NL city to finish with 224 points, 102 ahead of the Cardinals' Adam Wainwright, making him the fifth different pitcher to be honored in both leagues.

This year the Baseball Writers' Association of America expanded the ballot to five pitchers, meaning the total was based on a tabulation system that rewards seven points for first place, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth.

Wainwright finished second on 28 ballots, third on three and fifth on another. The Rockies' Ubaldo Jimenez finished third with 90 points.

•After serving more than 45 years in the game as a player, coach and executive, Bob Watson announced on Tuesday that he will retire from baseball at the end of the year. Watson has served as MLB's vice president of rules and on-field operations since 2002.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.