ACC men's basketball capsules

November 06, 2010


Coach: Steve Donahue (1st season)

Last year: 15-16

Returning starters: F Corey Raji, G Biko Paris, F Joe Trapani, C Josh Southern

Impact newcomers: none (freshmen G Danny Rubin and G Gabriel Moton aren't expected to play)

Skinny: A veteran squad will struggle against stronger, more talented opponents.


Coach: Brad Brownell (1st season)

Last year: 21-11

Returning starters: G Demontez Stitt, G Tanner Smith, F/C Jerai Grant

Impact newcomers: G Cory Stanton

Skinny: Led by Stitt, the Tigers will try to transition to Brownell's half-court offense and secure a fourth-consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance.


Coach: Mike Krzyzewski (31st season)

Last year: 35-5

Returning starters: F Kyle Singler, G Nolan Smith

Impact newcomers: G Seth Curry (Liberty transfer), G Kyrie Irving

Skinny: A repeat of last year's NCAA Championship will be difficult with only two returning starters, but hyped freshman point guard Kyrie Irving will see substantial minutes.


Coach: Leonard Hamilton (9th season)

Last year: 22-10

Returning starters: F Chris Singleton, G Michael Snaer, G Deividas Dulkys

Impact newcomers: G Ian Miller, F Okaro White

Skinny: An imposing Seminoles team — features four players standing at least 6-foot-9 — will be a well-rounded, defensive-minded challenge for any opponent.


Coach: Paul Hewitt (11th season)

Last year: (23-13)

Returning starters: G Imam Shumpert, G Mfon Udofia

Impact newcomers: G Jason Morris

Skinny: The Yellow Jackets are expected to struggle after losing three starters, including top scorers Derrick Favors and Gani Lawal. They will need Shumpert to find the basket.


Coach: Gary Williams (22nd season)

Last year: 24-9

Returning starters: G Sean Mosley, F Jordan Williams

Impact newcomers: F Mychal Parker, G Pe'shon Howard, F Ashton Pankey

Skinny: The Terps will need Mosley and G/F Cliff Tucker to emerge as offensive threats after graduating Greivis Vasquez, Eric Hayes and Landon Milbourne.


Coach: Frank Haith (5th season)

Last year: 19-13

Returning starters: G Durand Scott, C Julian Gamble, F Adrian Thomas

Impact newcomers: F Erik Swoope

Skinny: The Hurricanes return three key starters and should build off last season's surprising ACC Tournament run.


Coach: Roy Williams (8th season)

Last year: 20-17

Returning starters: F Tyler Zeller, G Larry Drew II, F John Henson

Impact players: F Harrison Barnes, G Reggie Bullock

Skinny: Barnes should emerge as one of this year's top freshmen and the Tar Heels will be out to prove that last year was an aberration.


Coach: Sidney Lowe (4th season)

Last year: 20-16

Returning starters: F Tracy Smith, G Javi Gonzalez, F Scott Wood

Impact newcomers: G Lorenzo Brown, F C.J. Leslie, G Ryan Harrow

Skinny: This year's team is the best the Wolfpack have produced in recent years. The addition of three heralded freshmen to a core led by Smith has N.C. State thinking big.


Coach: Tony Bennett (2nd season)

Last year: 15-16

Returning starters: F Mike Scott, G Sammy Zeglinski, G Jontel Evans

Impact newcomers: F K.T. Harrell, F James Johnson

Skinny: The rebuilding process continues at Virginia, but Harrell and Johnson should have Cavaliers fans excited.


Coach: Seth Greenberg (8th season)

Last year: 25-8

Returning starters: G Malcolm Delaney, F Jeff Allen, F Victor Davila, G/F Terrell Bell, G Dorenzo Hudson

Impact newcomers: F Allan Chaney (transfer Florida), G/F Jarell Eddie

Skinny: The Hokies return all five starters from last year and will rely on Delaney, perhaps the best guard in the ACC, to lead them deep into March.


Coach: Jeff Bzdelik (1st season)

Last year: 20-11

Returning starters: G C.J. Harris

Impact newcomers: F Travis McKie, G J.T. Terrell, G Tony Chennault, C Carson Desrosiers

Skinny: Bzdelik will benefit from an extremely talented recruiting class, but growing pains will hurt the Demon Deacons, who lost four starters from last year's team.

Mike Miller

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.