Jablonski, Loyola repeat as MIAA cross country champions

Titles are second straight for senior, Dons

Punyua top B Conference runner

November 03, 2010|By Jeff Seidel, Special to The Baltimore Sun

Matt Jablonski and top-ranked Loyola won their second consecutive Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association cross country championships Wednesday at Oregon Ridge Park.

Jablonski, a senior, blew away the field to win in 15 minutes, 11 seconds -- believed to be a meet record on the course. He beat Glenelg Country School's Kikanae Punyua by 48 seconds, taking the lead early on and never relinquishing it.

"I felt great today," Jablonski said. "I wanted to take it out in the beginning and set the tone."

Jablonski led a solid pack of Loyola runners. All five of the Dons who scored finished in the top 19. Kevin Corbusier (third), Hank Wiedefeld (sixth), Matt Lazzati (14th) and Pat Finley (19th) helped Loyola score 43 points, easily beating Gilman (69) and No. 9 Calvert Hall (93) for the MIAA A Conference title.

The Dons had a much easier time than last year, when they edged Calvert Hall by one point.

Will Meadows (fourth) led Gilman, which placed just one runner in the top 10 but got all five scorers in the first 22. Calvert Hall and McDonogh each put two runners in the top 10 -- A.J. Valletta (fifth) and Ian Tartal (eighth) for the Cardinals and Patrick Rollo (seventh) and Eric Levin (ninth) for the Eagles.

Punyua was easily the top B Conference runner, beating John Morgan of St. Mary's (10th overall) by 39 seconds. Punyua transferred to Glenelg from Wilde Lake this year, and the Kenyan has battled a strained ligament in his right shin that has severely limited his training.

Still, Punyua has run well throughout the fall and capped the regular season with a strong performance Wednesday.

"It feels great," Punyua said. "It's something I didn't expect because of the foot and because I've been just racing and" not training much.


(at Oregon Ridge Park)

Team scores (top 5): 1. Loyola, 43; 2. Gilman, 69; 3. Calvert Hall, 93; 4. Curley, 125; 5. McDonogh, 179.

Individuals (top 10): 1. Jablonski (LOY), 15:11; 2. Punyua (GCS), 15:59; 3. Corbusier (LOY), 16:09; 4. Meadows (GIL), 16:16; 5. Valletta (CH), 16:23; 6. Wiedefeld (LOY), 16:26; 7. Rollo (MCD), 16:29; 8. Tartal (CH), 16:30; 9. Levin (MCD), 16:35; 10. Morgan (STM), 16:38.

A previous version of this article gave the incorrect time for the ninth-place finisher. The Sun regrets the error.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.