Football title game will be played in 2011 for Big Ten

August 03, 2010

Commissioner Jim Delany expects the Big Ten to hold a championship game next season, when Nebraska joins and brings the league to 12 teams.

He also says teams likely will play nine conference games instead of eight in the future to help preserve rivalries.

Ohio State is the media's pick to win the Big Ten and Buckeyes quarterback Terrelle Pryor is the offensive player of the year for the second straight season.

Michigan State linebacker Greg Jones was tabbed the top defensive player again, making it the first time in 12 years that both preseason player of the year picks were repeat selections.

•Oklahoma State junior defensive end Jamie Blatnick has been charged with assault and battery with a dangerous weapon after a fight with a former OSU offensive lineman at a Stillwater bar. … Vanderbilt officials said that Robbie Caldwell is the permanent coach and a new contract is being worked out for him. He was named interim coach July 14 when Bobby Johnson announced his retirement from coaching.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.