Skinny on Lady Legends race

facts about the eight women riders

May 12, 2010|By Mike Klingaman, The Baltimore Sun

Patricia Cooksey, 52, third all-time leading female jockey with 2,137 victories and nearly $20 million earnings.Rode in both Kentucky Derby (1984, 11th) and Preakness (1985, 6th). Ended 25-year career in 2004. Now director of public relations for Kentucky Racing Commission.

Gwen Jocson, 43, youngest rider in Lady Legends Race. Her 376 victories in 1991 the one-year record for women riders. Ten-year career ended in 1999. Studying to be a physician's assistant in Bensalem, Pa.

Andrea Seefeldt Knight, 46, one of two women to ride in both Kentucky Derby (1991, 16th) and Preakness (1994, 7th). Ggraduate of South River High. Rode from 1981 to 1994. Owns and operates 70-acre horse farm in Sparks.

Barbara Jo Rubin, 60, first woman to win at a recognized track (Charles Town), in 1969 and also the first at Pimlico and Aqueduct. Competed one year and retired. Oldest rider in Lady Legends Race. Teaches dressage in Troy, Ill.

Jennifer Rowland Small, 57, attended Franklin High, lives in Upperco. A pioneer in state racing, won 192 races between 1971 and 1977. One of first women to win a stakes race in Maryland. Now a financial planner.

Mary Russ Tortora, 56, first woman to win a Grade 1 stakes race (Hialeah, 1982) and the first to earn $1 million in a year. Raced 1980 to 1986, and 1993 to 1994. Owns horse training farm and works in a deli in Ocala, Fla.

Mary Wiley Wagner, 46, fifth-leading apprentice jockey in U.S. in 1987. Graduate of Annapolis High. Raced professionally for 10 years and won 275 races. Lives in Stevensville (Kent County) and works as a realtor.

Cheryl White, 56, first African-American female jockey to race, also to win (Waterford Park, W. Va., 1971) Won 257 races before retiring in 1999. Now a state racing official living in Pleasanton, California.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.