Rodgers leads Maryland over Iona in first round of WNIT

Maryland 88, Iona 53

Sophomore guard scores 15 points on 5-for-6 shooting from 3-point range

March 19, 2010|By From Sun staff reports

Kim Rodgers led a well-balanced, hot-shooting Maryland scoring attack as the Terps women's basketball team cruised to an 88-53 win over Iona at Comcast Center in the first round of the Women's National Invitation Tournament on Friday night.

Rodgers, a sophomore guard, scored 15 points on 5-for-6 shooting from 3-point range, tying a career high for 3-pointers in a game. The Terps finished a season-best %13-for-25 from beyond the arc.

"I thought at first we showed some rust, after being off for two weeks," Maryland coach Brenda Frese said. "I thought Iona came out and did a great job shooting the basketball to start, but then we were kind of able to get into the rhythm of their offense and lock down defensively. We started clicking in the second part of the first half, as well as the second half. I just liked the unselfishness that we displayed on the offensive end, just getting so many players involved."

Maryland led 44-28 at the half. The Terps (20-12) started the second half on a 15-5 run and coasted past the Gaels (18-14) the rest of the way.

Freshman forward Tianna Hawkins scored 11 points in the second half, finishing with 15 points and 10 rebounds for her seventh double double of the season.

Senior guard Lori Bjork (12 points), freshman forward Jackie Nared (11) and sophomore guard Anjale Barrett (10) also reached double figures for the Terps.

"We've spent a lot of time in the gym, taking shots, so I think that pays off," Frese said. "I thought every single player stepped up and shot the ball with a lot of confidence."

Maryland will host East Carolina in a second-round matchup Sunday. It will be the first meeting between the Terps and Pirates.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.