Girls track: Performers to watch

  • McDonogh's Kristen Brown is a versatile performer who is coming off a stellar indoor season.
McDonogh's Kristen Brown is a versatile performer who… (Baltimore Sun photo by Elizabeth…)
March 17, 2010|By Jeff Seidel | Special to The Baltimore Sun

Lauren Allam

Chesapeake-AA, senior

Allam won the indoor state championship in the tough Class 4A in shot put, will do shot and discus outdoors. The Navy-bound senior has the 10th-best throw in state history in the discus and took second in the state last spring, along with third in the shot put.

Kristen Brown

McDonogh, senior

Is there anything she can't do? Brown had a great season indoors, scoring in sprints and field events to help the Eagles to another IAAM title. She can give the Eagles an impressive 30 to 40 points in every meet.

Madeline Dulac

McDonogh, junior

Sometimes she gets caught in teammate Kristen Brown's shadow, but Dulac deserves her own spotlight. She won the 1,600 and 3,200 at the IAAM championships last spring, helping McDonogh to the team title.

Maura Linde

Century, junior

She carried the Knights to the Class 2A state title indoors, winning the 1,600 and 3,200, taking second in the 800 and running on the victorious 3,200 relay team. Linde keeps getting better and will anchor a good Century team this spring.

Alyssa McClure

Digital Harbor, senior

She developed into perhaps the state's top sprinter during indoor track and won the 55 meters indoors despite tweaking her hamstring during the race. McClure was No. 1 in the country for much of the indoor season in the 55 and helped the Rams win the city and regional titles. She also helps in the 300 and can do relays.

Brinae Robinson

Western, junior

Robinson played a big role in the Doves winning the Class 3A state title indoors. She bounced back from suffering an illness at the city meet to help Western win the regional and state titles. Robinson won the 500 and was a very close second in the 800 as the Doves edged Damascus by one point.

Lacey Shuman

Maryvale, senior

Shuman has been close to perfect in the high jump. She has never lost a conference meet indoors during her three years with the team and won the IAAM title this winter with a leap of 5 feet, 6 inches after clearing 5-10 in a league meet during the season.

Sasha Smallwood

Pikesville, junior

Smallwood is the defending state champion outdoors in the pole vault (Class 1A), and she repeated indoors. And just for fun, she took sixth in the state in the 55-meter hurdles.

Chelsea Walker

Digital Harbor, senior

She played a major role in helping the Rams win the city and regional titles indoors and finish fourth in the state in Class 2A. Walker helps Digital Harbor in sprints and relays and combines with McClure to give the Rams a 1-2 punch in every meet.

Becky Yep

Mount Hebron, senior

Yep has really come into her own this year. She won Class 3A state championships in cross country and indoor track (3,200) and will be one of the area's top distance runners this spring.

Other notables:

•Sarah Brand, Oakland Mills

•Chelsey Bush, Dulaney

•Dorehn Coleman, River Hill

•Brittney Coppa, North Carroll

•Stephanie Crane, Broadneck

•Eryn Donaldson,

Mount Hebron

•Alexis Franklin, Old Mill

•Shelby Frink, Woodlawn

•Amanda Gates,

Manchester Valley

Jess Harlee, Fallston

•Diandra Hendricks, Northwestern

•Syrita Hunt, Western

•Erika Hurd,

Manchester Valley

•Hillary Lee, South River

•Jordanna Lehman, Hereford

•Kirsten McGovern, Century

•Amber Melville, North Carroll

•Cody Mezebish, South Carroll

•Hannah Oneda, Winters Mill

•Chris Patrick, Severna Park

•Jasmine Robinson, McDonogh

•Meghan Rose, Eastern Tech

•Aneesha Scott, Long Reach

•Regina Summerville,

Digital Harbor

•Jacqueline Tape, Long Reach

•Elizabeth Tauber, John Carroll

•Emily VandeWater, Hereford

•Megan Wall, Dulaney

•Melanie Waters,


•Tayler Wheeler, Oakland Mills

•Zoey Whittington, Catonsville

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.