New owners, name change announced for Bayhawks

March 10, 2010|By Sports Digest

The Bayhawks announced the new ownership group made up of president Brendan Kelly, director of corporate sales John Lamon and director of youth sales Chris Kelly. The professional lacrosse team also announced a name change to the Chesapeake Bayhawks. "We wanted to change the team name to encompass the entire region," Brendan Kelly said. "It's important that we touch the markets of Baltimore, Washington, D.C., Northern Virginia and the Eastern Shore. We are also going to work to get the youth involved to bridge the connection between the collegiate and professional game." The Bayhawks will open their season May 15 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium.

Baseball: David Boies, one of America's most celebrated trial lawyers, has joined the team of attorneys representing Pikesville native Jamie McCourt in her divorce from Los Angeles Dodgers owner Frank McCourt. Boies is perhaps best known for representing Al Gore before the U.S. Supreme Court after the 2000 presidential election.

Indoor football: Mariners defensive lineman Melik Brown was named American Indoor Football Association Defensive Player of the Week after making 4.5 tackles and 2.5 sacks in his first game with the team, a 55-48 win over the Harrisburg Stampede on Saturday.

Capitals: Washington signed right wing Dmitry Kugryshev, a second-round draft choice in 2008, to a three-year entry-level contract.

Wizards: Guard Shaun Livingston, who is averaging 3.0 points and 1.5 assists in 9.3 minutes, signed a second 10-day contract.

Pro soccer: Crystal Palace Baltimore signed forward Yaikel Perez, 25, and Haitian midfielder Kenold Versailles, 25.

College softball: Coach Joe French earned his 500th career victory as visiting UMBC ran its winning streak to nine games with a sweep at Delaware.

- From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.