Mount St. Mary's eliminated by Robert Morris, 80-62

N.C. State tops Boston College to close season

Duke woman win ACC Tournament

March 08, 2010|By Sports Digest

Karon Abraham scored 19 points and defending champion Robert Morris beat Mount St. Mary's, 80-62, on Sunday night in the Northeast Conference semifinals in Moon Township, Pa. The second-seeded Colonials (22-11) will play top seed Quinnipiac on Wednesday in the conference championship for a berth in the NCAA tournament. The Colonials will be playing for their seventh conference tournament title. Rob Robinson added 14 points, Dallas Green had 11 and Velton Jones 10 for the Colonials, who had split two games this season with Mount St. Mary's and beat the Mountaineers in last year's NEC title game. Leading 51-48 with 16:35 to play, the Colonials went on a 13-0 run for a 64-48 lead after a basket by Mezie Nwigwe with 9:19 to play. The lead never dipped below 12 points the rest of the way. Jeremy Goode scored 20 points and Shawn Atupem added 12 for the third-seeded Mountaineers (16-15). "I thought our guys just ran out of gas tonight," Mount coach Milan Brown said. "It's tough to swallow when you see that Robert Morris shot 53 percent and scored 80 points, because we hang our hat on defense." Freshman Raven Barber pulled Mount St. Mary's to within 51-48 at the 16:35 mark of the second half with a layup, but Robert Morris scored the next 13 points to open up a 64-48 edge with 9:19 remaining.

ACC: Al-Farouq Aminu broke out of his slump with 18 points and 12 rebounds, and Wake Forest (19-9, 8-8) continued its home dominance of Clemson (21-9, 9-7) with a 70-65 victory that cost the Tigers a first-round bye in the Atlantic Coast Conference tournament. ... Dennis Horner scored 11 of his 14 points during the decisive second-half run to help host North Carolina State (17-14, 5-11) rally to a 63-57 win over Boston College (15-15, 6-10).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.