Gaels' Atkins repeats as BCL Player of Year

February 24, 2010|By By Glenn Graham

Mount St. Joseph senior point guard Eric Atkins, a four-year starter who has led the No. 2 Gaels to a 28-3 season, was named the Baltimore Catholic League's Player of the Year for a second straight season at the league's 39th annual luncheon Tuesday afternoon at Snyder's Willow Grove Restaurant in Linthicum Heights.

Atkins, who is set to play at Notre Dame, is averaging 15 points, four assists, four rebounds and two steals this season.

"It just feels great to be mentioned with all the great players of the past from the BCL. ... There's so many players, it's an honor to be included," Atkins said. "The BCL is the best league in the country to me. I didn't play in any other league, but from what I hear this is the best league, and every game is a tough game."

Mount St. Joseph's Pat Clatchey was selected as the BCL Coach of the Year for the eighth time.

The 18-year coach, who has 427 career wins at Mount St. Joseph, guided the Gaels to their sixth regular-season championship since 2003. The team takes an 11-0 mark into tonight's game against No. 4 Calvert Hall and has clinched the top seed in this weekend's BCL playoffs. The Gaels have won three BCL tournament championships under Clatchey.

"It's nice to be recognized, but I didn't play one second in any of the games, so I consider this a team award - your staff contributes greatly and your players," Clatchey said. "I've always felt very proud and fortunate to feel part of the BCL. I grew up watching the league, and an opportunity to coach in the BCL has been a great experience."

Calvert Hall senior forward Donya Jackson has long been known for his hard work containing opposing teams' top scoring threats, and he was chosen the BCL's Defensive Player of the Year for a second straight season.

Here are the 2009-10 All-BCL teams selected by the league's coaches:

First team

Eric Atkins, Mount St. Joseph, senior

•Ryley Beaumont, Mount St. Joseph, senior

•Jonathan Graham, Calvert Hall, senior

•Dylon Cormier, Cardinal Gibbons, senior

•Damion Lee, Calvert Hall, senior

Wayne Sparrow, St. Frances, senior

Second team

•Dante Holmes, St. Frances, senior

Matt Miller, Mount St. Joseph, senior

•Nic Martin, St. Maria Goretti, senior

•Matt Mathias, Loyola, senior

•Gregory Lewis, St. Frances, junior

Honorable mention - Donya Jackson, Calvert Hall; Erik Fisher, Cardinal Gibbons; Connor McRoy, Archbishop Spalding; R.J. Williams, St. Frances; Mike Fitzpatrick, Loyola

"Never, Never Quit" Awards - Jeff Janosek, Spalding; Sean Wise, Calvert Hall; Brooks Healy, Gibbons; Emmett Cahill, Loyola; Matt Miller, Mount St. Joseph; Jason Jones Jr., St. Frances; Jay Donoghue, St. Maria Goretti

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.