Annapolis' Larson nominated for yachtsman award

December 17, 2009|By Sports Digest

Annapolis sailor Chris Larson, winner of this year's Melges 24 World Championship, is on US Sailing's list of 10 nominees for the 2009 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Award. Larson, who was nominated for the award in 1993, 1994, 1996 and 2002 and won it in 1997, has a distinguished resume that includes America's Cup and Volvo Ocean Race campaigns and eight other world championships. The Rolex award, established in 1961, is given to a man and woman for accomplishments in competitive sailing. Previous winners have included Dennis Conner, Ted Turner and Betsy Alison. The winners will be announced in mid-January and honored Feb. 26 during a luncheon at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan.

- Candus Thomson

College track and field: UMES senior Saisha Woodward and freshman Marcus Brown were named Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference track and field Athletes of the Week.

- From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.