Loyola men's lacrosse team picked to finish first in ECAC

December 09, 2009|By Sports Digest

ECAC lacrosse coaches picked the Loyola men's lacrosse team to finish first in the conference this season and named Greyhounds senior Cooper MacDonnell the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year. Loyola received 47 points, outdistancing Denver (41) and Ohio State (40).

Women's lacrosse: Ohio State signed Glenelg attacker Katie Chase, Mount de Sales midfielder Cara Facchina and C. Milton Wright defender Tayler Kuzma to letters of intent. ... Towson signed North Harford midfielder Rhiannon Coogle,Winters Mill midfielder Katie Leech,Westminster midfielder Kelly Murkey, Good Counsel defender Kaitlin Sheridan and Broadneck defender Allison Thornton to letters of intent.

Men's basketball: Navy guard Chris Harris was named the Mid-Majority Baller of the Week by midmajority.com, which covers mid-majors.

Baseball: Towson signed Atholton right-handed pitcher-infielder Chris Acker and Cardinal Gibbons outfielder Dominic Fratantuono to letters of intent.

Soccer: Johns Hopkins senior goalkeeper Karen Guszkowski was named to the NSCAA NCAA Division III All-America team. She was joined on the All-Mid-Atlantic first team by two teammates, junior Jessica Hnatiuk (John Carroll) and sophomore Erica Suter (River Hill). Junior Jenn Paulucci was named to the All-Mid-Atlantic second team. ... Blue Jays juniors Scott Bukoski and Kevin Hueber were named to the ECAC South All-Star second team.

Field hockey: Salisbury's Dawn Chamberlin was named the Dita/National Field Hockey Coaches Association South Region Coach of the Year.

College wrestling: Maryland All-America senior Hudson Taylor was named Atlantic Coast Conference Wrestler of the Week.

Indoor track: Loyola freshman sprinter Whitney Gibbs was named Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Performer of the Week.

- From Sun staff and news services

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.