O's announce spring training schedule

Team will open exhibition season vs. Rays March 3 in Sarasota

December 02, 2009

The Orioles on Tuesday announced their 2010 spring training schedule, which will open March 3 against the Tampa Bay Rays at Ed Smith Stadium in Sarasota, Fla.

After 14 years in Fort Lauderdale, the club is training in Sarasota for the first time since 1995 and will play 16 home games in 2010 at their new spring facility.

The team's first workout for pitchers and catchers is Feb. 18 and the first full-squad workout will be Feb. 23. All workouts prior to the start of exhibition games are free and open to the public.

The Orioles will host 10 different opponents at Ed Smith Stadium, including the Boston Red Sox three times, the Rays, New York Yankees, Minnesota Twins and Pittsburgh Pirates two times each, and the Detroit Tigers, Florida Marlins, Philadelphia Phillies, New York Mets and Toronto Blue Jays once.

Fans can purchase single-game tickets for Ed Smith Stadium at orioles.com, by calling 888-329-3365 and through the Orioles' box office in Sarasota (in person or by fax or mail). Multi-game, season or group ticket plans can be purchased by calling 941-954-4101.

The Orioles will conclude the exhibition season April 3 against the Mets in Sarasota. The team will hold a final workout April 4 in Sarasota before breaking camp. They will hold a workout April 5 at Tropicana Field prior to the regular-season opener against the Rays April 6.

Date    Opponent     Location    Time

March 3    Tampa Bay Rays    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 4    Tampa Bay Rays     Charlotte County    1:05 p.m.
March 5     Pittsburgh Pirates     Sarasota     7:05 p.m.
March 6     Detroit Tigers     Lakeland    1:05 p.m.
March 7    Boston Red Sox     Sarasota    1:05 p.m.
March 8    Minnesota Twins    Sarasota    1:05 p.m.
March 9    Tampa Bay Rays    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 10    Pittsburgh Pirates    Bradenton    7:05 p.m.
March 11     Minnesota Twins    Lee County     7:05 p.m.
March 12     Florida Marlins     Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 13     New York Yankees    Tampa     1:05 p.m.
March 14     Philadelphia Phillies    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 15     Boston Red Sox    Fort Myers     1:05 p.m.
March 16     Minnesota Twins    Lee County    1:05 p.m.
March 17     Toronto Blue Jays    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 18     Toronto Blue Jays    Dunedin    1:05 p.m.
March 19     Philadelphia Phillies    Clearwater     7:05 p.m.
March 20     Pittsburgh Pirates (SS)    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
             Boston Red Sox (SS)     Fort Myers     1:05 p.m.
March 21     Philadelphia Phillies     Clearwater    1:05 p.m.
March 22     Off day
March 23     Florida Marlins     Jupiter     1:05 p.m.
March 24     St. Louis Cardinals     Jupiter    1:05 p.m.
March 25     New York Yankees    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 26     Minnesota Twins    Sarasota    7:05 p.m.
March 27     Boston Red Sox     Sarasota    1:05 p.m.
March 29     New York Yankees    Sarasota    7:05 p.m.
March 30     Detroit Tigers    Sarasota     1:05 p.m.
March 31    Boston Red Sox     Sarasota    1:05 p.m.
April 1     Tampa Bay Rays     Charlotte County    1:05 p.m.
April 2     New York Yankees    Tampa    1:05 p.m.
April 3     New York Mets     Sarasota     1:05 p.m.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.