School Board Elects Officers

July 15, 2009|By Arin Gencer | Arin Gencer,

A new face appeared on the Baltimore County school board Tuesday night, newly appointed by Gov. Martin O'Malley.

Zoe Camp, a rising senior at Catonsville High School, is the board's student representative, succeeding Annette Karanja, whose term ended in June.

Also during last night's meeting, JoAnn C. Murphy was unanimously re-elected as board president, as was Vice President H. Edward Parker.

The board approved the appointment of Judith E. Smith, a city school official, to the new post of executive director for liberal arts - one of several new positions in the department of curriculum and instruction.

Smith's appointment follows other recent changes within district and school-building leadership, as well as a reorganization of curriculum and instruction approved by the board in June.

Lyle Patzkowsky, who served as central area assistant superintendent, moved to the same role in the southeast area, taking over for Jean E. Satterfield, who retired July 1.

Verletta B. White, formerly the executive director for professional development, takes over as northeast area assistant superintendent. Barbara C. Bisset, director of that department, is now executive director. White replaces Robert M. Tomback, whose resignation was approved in June.

The school system is searching for a new associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction, under whom would serve two new executive directors - one for liberal arts and another for science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM. The reorganization of the department eliminated the position of chief academic officer, created two years ago in response to an independent audit of the district.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.