No. 13 Century shines after pair of rainouts

Rested Knights roll over Roland Park

McDonogh wins

April 14, 2009|By Katherine Dunn | Katherine Dunn,

Century senior Katie Schwarzmann looked forward to playing three solid opponents from outside Carroll County over the Easter weekend, but when Saturday's rain washed out two of those games at Dulaney's Baltimore Showcase, she said, it didn't hurt for her No. 13 girls lacrosse team to have a midseason rest.

It sure didn't. Monday morning, the Knights rolled past Roland Park, 16-6, at the 13th Maryland High School Lacrosse Showdown at Johns Hopkins' Homewood Field.

Schwarzmann had seven goals, and Claire Brady added five.

"We won the majority of the draws," Schwarzmann said. "That's been a problem for us throughout the season, and every single practice, it's been our main focus - win the draw, look for the quick outlet - and I definitely think that helped us today."

The Knights (5-0) also took advantage of many of Roland Park's 13 turnovers and worked the ball exceptionally well through the Reds' defense. Roland Park goalie Amanda Hirschfield had a strong effort with nine saves, but the Knights had too easy a time getting to her.

The Reds (1-8), who have lost three one-goal games to top-10 teams, got two goals each from Caroline Seats and Halle Gray.

No. 1 McDonogh 15, No. 14 Winters Mill 3: : Erin McNunn put Winters Mill (3-2) on the scoreboard first at the Lacrosse Showdown, but the Eagles (8-1) answered with a 15-1 run as eight McDonogh players scored. Colby Rhea scored three times, and Taylor Cummings had two goals and an assist for the Eagles (8-1).

NO. 11 SOUTH RIVER 11, NO. 10 SPALDING 10:: Courtney Thompson scored with 21 seconds remaining to break a tie at 10 and give the Seahawks (6-1) the win over the Cavaliers (7-4) in the Anne Arundel Community College Tournament.

Baltimore Sun reporters contributed to this article.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.