Today's Boys Basketball State Semis

March 13, 2009|By GLENN GRAHAM

Class 2A

Matchup: No. 14 Century (22-3)

vs. No. 8 City (19-6)

Time: 9 p.m.

Outlook: Both teams have standout inside players, with City leaning on the versatile play of senior F Adam Johnson (16 ppg, 9 rpg) and Century countering with senior C Matt Duerr (17 ppg, 10.6 rpg). City has a second post player in junior C Jordan Lathan, while Century has received fine guard play from seniors Mike Virbickis and Tyler Cockey, who average a combined 24 points. Both teams are looking to win their first state titles, with Century making its first appearance in the tournament and City reaching state play for the first time since 1999. City's tougher schedule during the season could pay dividends.

The Baltimore Sun's pick: City

Class 1A

Matchup: South Carroll (17-8)

vs. Pocomoke (24-1)

Time: 3 p.m.

Outlook: The Cavaliers have shown poise in their three South regional playoff games, winning by four points or fewer in each. With Pocomoke averaging 82 points this season, South Carroll will need to control the tempo and rely on a stingy defense that limited opponents to 50 points a game. Sophomore G Ryan McTavish leads the Cavaliers at 14 points a game with senior C Travis Tate the defensive force in the middle. Pocomoke senior F Sebastian Sturgis averages 18 points, 12 rebounds and four blocks.

The Baltimore Sun's pick: Pocomoke

Matchup: Allegany (22-3)

vs. No. 6 Digital Harbor (21-5)

Time: 5 p.m.

Outlook: For the Rams, it starts in the backcourt with brothers George and Justin Jackson. The two bring smart play and combine to average 35 points and 10 assists. The team also receives strong play up front, led by senior F Davon Usher, who averages 16 points and 10 rebounds. Allegany is led by junior G Casey Roberts (21 ppg).

The Baltimore Sun's pick: Digital Harbor

Glenn Graham

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.