Athletes Of The Week


December 31, 2008

Auraum Nuiriankh Arundel, basketball

The senior forward was named Most Valuable Player of Glen Burnie's J.T. Bogle Invitational after scoring 22 points in Saturday's title game, an 86-72 win over the host Gophers. Nuiriankh, a three-year varsity player and the only starter back from last season's team, is averaging 18.1 points, nine rebounds and three blocked shots to help the Wildcats get off to a 9-0 start. In the tournament, the Wildcats opened with an 82-63 win over Dulaney on Friday, as Nuiriankh totaled 31 points, 12 rebounds, six steals and five assists. In the title game against Glen Burnie, Arundel took a 60-56 lead into the fourth quarter, when Nuiriankh took over a key stretch. He hit a three-pointer and had a dunk in a 7-2 run that opened up a 67-58 lead the Wildcats didn't relinquish.

Others considered: Tony Farace, Oakland Mills, wrestling; Rion Rieter, South Carroll, wrestling; Will Switzer, Archbishop Spalding, wrestling; Terrell Vinson, St. Frances, basketball

Jess Harlee Fallston, basketball

For the third straight year, Harlee earned Most Valuable Player honors in leading the Cougars to victory at the North Carroll Holiday Hoops Tournament, where the junior forward-guard, 5 feet 9, scored more than half of her team's points. She began with 30 points, 20 rebounds and five steals in a 49-43 win over Notre Dame Prep. Then she had 20 points, 20 rebounds and nine steals in the 47-37 title-game win over North Carroll. A two-time Harford County Player of the Year, Harlee is averaging 17.2 points, 13.6 rebounds and eight steals. She is drawing a lot of attention from college coaches and has a 3.98 grade-point average.

Others considered: Brianna Bradford, Reservoir, basketball; Asya Bussie, Seton Keough, basketball; Ashle Craig, Western, basketball; Shamika Williams, Catonsville, basketball

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.