Ravens Report

December 08, 2008|By KEN MURRAY

PRIME-TIME BREAKTHROUGH: Powered by their playmaking defense, the Ravens broke a seven-game prime-time losing streak with a 24-10 victory over the Redskins in front of an announced 71,438 at M&T Bank Stadium, the largest crowd in Baltimore franchise history, and a national TV audience.

GAME-WINNING DRIVE: Held out of the end zone since its first possession, the Ravens' offense responded with an 83-yard touchdown drive after Washington got within 17-10 in the fourth quarter. Offensive coordinator Cam Cameron called 11 straight runs - 10 by Le'Ron McClain - before Joe Flacco threw a 28-yard touchdown pass to Derrick Mason.

PLAYMAKER STRIKES AGAIN: Ravens safety Ed Reed showed why he's one of the NFL's best playmakers in a five-minute stretch of the first quarter. Reed made a shoe-top interception of a flutterball pass from Jason Campbell to set up a 55-yard touchdown drive to open the game. Then he forced a fumble by Clinton Portis, scooped it up and ran 22 yards to the end zone for a 14-0 lead.

PRESSURE PACKAGE: The Ravens came after Campbell early, with lasting effect. Defensive end-linebacker Terrell Suggs caused Campbell's fluttering pass on Reed's interception, and safety Jim Leonhard blitzed twice in the first quarter from the right side. On his second blitz, he arrived a split second after linebacker Ray Lewis tackled Campbell for a 13-yard sack.

STREAK HALTED: After holding the Redskins to a 43-yard field goal early in the fourth quarter after a turnover, the Ravens' defense surrendered its first touchdown in 14 quarters and 47 possessions when Campbell completed a 5-yard scoring pass to Antwaan Randle El.

COMING ATTRACTION: The Steelers (10-3) arrive at M&T Bank Stadium on Sunday for the game of the year in the AFC North. Pittsburgh rallied to beat visiting Dallas, 20-13, yesterday.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.