River Hill's Campanaro works hard, repeats


November 20, 2008|By Sandra McKee | Sandra McKee,sandra.mckee@baltsun.com

Michael Campanaro, the do-everything back at River Hill, was voted the Player of the Year in Howard County on Monday by the county's 13 varsity football coaches during a meeting at Hammond.

Campanaro, who was also voted Offensive Player of the Year, and Wilde Lake's Danny March, who was voted Defensive Player of the Year, were the only two in the running for the award.

"I'm very proud of him," said Attillo Campanaro, Michael's father and an assistant coach at River Hill. "He won Player of the Year last year as a junior, too. I'm very proud he could back it up. He earned it by working hard."

Campanaro rushed for 1,581 yards. He had 30 touchdowns, 24 of them rushing, two receiving, two on punt returns and two on interception returns. He had 275 yards receiving.

March, a defensive back who also sometimes kicks for the Wildecats, had 65 solo tackles, 26 assisted, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery, six interceptions - including one for a touchdown - nine passes deflected, four blocked kicks, one field goal and three extra points.

Senior All-Stars

The Baltimore Touchdown Club will hold its 13th Annual Senior All-Star Game between Baltimore, which includes players from Baltimore City public Anotrand private schools and Anne Arundel County, and a Metro team, with representatives from Howard, Carroll, Frederick and Washington counties, on Dec. 6 at McDaniel College.

Chosen for the team from Howard are: quarterback Luke Hostetler (River Hill); wide receivers Kyle Williams (Marriotts Ridge), Ryan Griffin (River Hill) and Nate Gant (Hammond); offensive linemen Kevin Gordon (Atholton), Aaron Dailey (Long Reach) and Brandon Yurechko (Howard); defensive linemen Tim Willman (Reservoir), Benjamin Walsh (Centennial), Mike Franklin (Long Reach), Billy Hall (Glenelg), Jackson Drury (Wilde Lake) and Jae Kim (Marriotts Ridge); defensive backs Derek Coleman (Marriotts Ridge), Patrick Blackmon (Long Reach), Dan March (Wilde Lake), Jarrel Epps (Wilde Lake), Jameson Zacharias (Mount Hebron) and Preston Schryer (Centennial); and kicker Nate Frimpong (Oakland Mills).

The team will be coached by Ken Hovet of Marriotts Ridge. Among his assistants will be Long Reach coach Pete Hughes and Glenelg coach Butch Schaffer.

Another Centennial title

The Centennial volleyball team, led by Samantha Brostrom's 11 kills and four aces, won its 14th state 3A championship Monday.

The Eagles set the record last year, breaking a tie with Williamsport, which won 12 titles between 1981 and 2005.

Centennial won its first title in 1989 and then from 1991 through 2000 it missed earning the trophy only once, in 1995. Since the new millennium, the Eagles have won the title in 2004, 2005, 2006 and this year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.