People On The Move

November 02, 2008

County executive named to national health panel

Howard County Executive Ken Ulman has been appointed by National Association of Counties President Don Stapley to serve as vice chairman of the association's Health Steering Committee for 2008-2009.

The committee is responsible for developing the association's policy regarding federal legislation and policy on health care delivery and financing - including indigent care, health care for the uninsured, Medicaid, Medicare, long-term care, local public health programs, mental health, substance abuse and developmental disabilities.

The policy development process initiated by NACo's steering committees leads to the publication of the American County Platform, which the association uses as a guide to deliver its message to the administration, Congress and the public.

Burke, McClelland get St. Agnes awards

Dr. Michael Burke, a Columbia resident, was awarded the Seton Founders' Award by St. Agnes Hospital. The award was established to honor physicians who demonstrate qualities exemplified by the founders of the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul.

Burke has served as chairman of the hospital's pediatrics department for 18 years and is an assistant professor of pediatrics at the Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Paul McClelland of Ellicott City is the first recipient of the Bayley Award, given to a member of the St. Agnes staff who has been affiliated with the hospital for fewer than 10 years and exemplifies the qualities of the founders of the Daughters of Charity.

McClelland has served as director of psychiatric services at St. Agnes since 2005.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.