People On The Move


August 21, 2008

j-ref makes changes to its board

Michael A. Mobley, executive director of j-ref, a private not-for-profit funding source for Howard County start-up and emerging companies, has announced changes to the organization's board of directors for fiscal 2009.

Rosa M. Scharf, a senior vice president at Howard Bank, is secretary; Stephen F. Wolf of the Ellicott City-based accounting firm, Berman Goldman & Ribakow, is treasurer.

Christopher Young of the Business and Technology Law Group was re-elected as chairman, and Charles "Chuck" Breitenother of KLNB was re-elected as vice chairman.

Recently retired are Diane Battle, Skip Coale, Brian Daschbach, Alice Iskra, Allen Stott and Antonio Salazar.

Daughaday named Arc award winner

Carol A. Beatty, executive director of the Arc of Howard County, has presented the organization's 2008 Employee of the Year Award to J.C. Daughaday, a job coach for people with developmental disabilities who are working in the community.

Daughaday was honored for his commitment to clients with cognitive and developmental disabilities and his success in meeting the needs of local employers. He is also a spokesman for the Arc's employment services.

The Arc of Howard County provides housing, employment services and support programs to people with cognitive and developmental disabilities and their families.

Rebuilding Together board picks Startt

John Startt, president of JST Builders of Clarksville, has been elected president of the board of directors of Rebuilding Together Howard County. He succeeds retiring President Bob Schurter, who served in that position for three years.

Startt has served on the organization's board since 1999. His plans for Rebuilding Together include repairing and rehabilitating 30 homes in Howard County each year, and recruiting board members with building and fundraising experience.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.