Names In The News

August 14, 2008

* Jody Porter, Kim Bushnell, Lynn Marie Bullock and Lisa Paris have been accepted into the Doctor of Nursing Practice program at the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and will begin in the fall.

Bullock and Paris both work at Greater Baltimore Medical Center's Norman Baetjer Jr. and Jeanne H. Baetjer Center for Nursing Excellence. The center supports the professional development needs of nursing students and coordinates orientation and educational opportunities for nurses.

Bullock, who has been a nurse for 15 years, serves as the clinical program manager for the Baetjer Center. She has worked at the center for 10 years. Paris has been a nurse for 24 years, 22 of them at GBMC.

Porter is GBMC's senior vice president of patient care services and chief nursing officer. Bushnell is the administrative director in nursing administration.

Jessica Thomason, a nurse in the intensive care unit at GMBC, is pursing her master's of nursing at Hopkins. She has been a GBMC nurse for two years and has five years of experience in intensive care nursing.

A grant is enabling these nurses to pursue advance degrees.

* Jean Wible is a new assistant professor of massage therapy and the coordinator of the Student Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Clinic in the School of Health Professions at the Community College of Baltimore County.

Wible is a nurse and massage therapist in private practice. At the college, her job will include overseeing student clinical rotations through a clinic on the Essex campus.

* Sandy Titus, a rehab technician at Greater Baltimore Medical Center for more than 20 years, is the winner of the hospital's first Nancy J. Petrarca Compassionate Caregiver Award.

Titus has worked at the hospital since 1985. She assists physical and occupational therapy staff.

The Petrarca award was established this year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.