Education Notes


August 10, 2008

Class registration through Aug. 30

Registration for Harford Community College's Fall 2008 credit courses is being held through Aug. 30 in the student center at 401 Thomas Run Road, Bel Air.

Walk-in registration is available from 7:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday. Saturday registration will be held from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Aug. 16, Aug. 23 and Aug. 30.

The college will be closed Sept. 1. Fall classes begin Sept. 2.

Students may also register for courses by mail or fax. Forms and information are included in the Schedule of Summer/Fall 2008 Credit Classes. Online registration is continuous through Sept. 1 at

Students may call HCC's Academic Advising at 410-836-4301 to make an appointment for a one-stop session or meet with an academic adviser. Students who have never attended HCC, or who attended before Spring 2006, should complete an HCC Application for Enrollment prior to registering.

Registration also is accepted at HCC's Aberdeen Proving Ground Center. For information, call 410-272-2338.

Information: 410-836-4222.

HCC trustees' open session on Tuesday

The board of trustees of Harford Community College will meet in open session at 6 p.m. Tuesday in the Chesapeake Center Board Room.

The public may address the board at a specified time. Anyone wishing to speak at the meeting must complete a request form and return it to marketing and public relations before the meeting.

To request disability-related assistance, call 410-836-4402, or 410-836-4199 TTY or e-mail

Information: 410-836-4408.

Mikulski selects academy nominees

U.S. Sen. Barbara A. Mikulski, a Democrat, has announced her nominees for various military academy appointments, including two from Harford County.

Travis Lund, a graduate of Bel Air High School, will attend the Air Force Academy. Benjamin Thomas of Jarrettsville, a graduate of Baltimore Lutheran School, will attend the Military Academy at West Point.

To attend a military academy, students must submit an application, and the senator recommends 10 names for appointment. The academy then makes an offer to nominees as space permits.

Cecil president is exec of the year

Cecil College President W. Stephen Pannill was recently named executive of the year by the Cecil County Chamber of Commerce at its annual awards gala.

The award is given to an owner, executive, major stockholder, managing partner or general manger who, over a period of at least five years, has contributed significantly to the community through civic activities and promoted economic development in the county as well as enhancing his/her own business and profession.

Pannill became the fourth president of Cecil College July 1, 2000. As college president, he is secretary and treasurer of Cecil's board of trustees and on the board of the Cecil College Foundation.

He is on the advisory board for the Cecil Leadership Institute and an adviser to the Bainbridge Development Corporation.

Pannill was recently elected chairman of the Maryland Community College Presidents Group and is the newly elected vice chair of the Maryland Association of Community College Trustees.

Harford residents graduate from UMES

Several Harford County residents recently graduated from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

Jacob Bauer III of Havre de Grace graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor's degree in social studies.

Tyshuna Bolton of Edgewood earned a bachelor's degree in criminal justice.

Meaghan Ferguson of Aberdeen received a bachelor's degree in human ecology.

Michael Svezzese of Joppa earned a master's degree in career and technology education.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.