Education Notes


June 22, 2008

School appointments announced for 2008

The Anne Arundel County School Board last week approved the following administrative appointments, promotions and reassignments for the next school year:

* Alex Szachnowicz, from chief facilities officer to chief operations officer;

* Andrea Kane from principal of Van Bokkelen Elementary to senior manager for school improvement;

* Leonard Massie, from principal of Jessie Lasalle Elementary in Washington to principal of Van Bokkelen Elementary;

* June Eyet, from assistant principal at North County High to principal at Severn River Middle;

* John Noon, from assistant principal at Brock Bridge Elementary to assistant principal at Deale Elementary;

* Jesse Mitchell, from acting assistant principal at Hebron-Harman Elementary to assistant principal there;

* R. Lynn Birus, who was on a leave of absence as a teacher at Ridgeway Elementary, to an assistant principal at Crofton Woods Elementary;

* Alexis McKay, from teacher at Seven Oaks Elementary to assistant principal there.

The board was informed of the following administrative job changes:

* Patrick Bathras, from principal of Severn River Middle to principal of Severna Park High;

* Jason Dykstra, from principal of Severna Park High to principal of Southern Middle;

* Karen Bailey, from principal of Point Pleasant Elementary to principal of Piney Orchard Elementary;

* Janine Robinson, from principal of Woodside Elementary to principal of Crofton Meadows Elementary;

* Melissa Brown, from principal of Deale Elementary to principal of Lothian Elementary;

* Sara Pickens, from guidance counselor at Millersville Elementary to acting assistant principal at Nantucket Elementary;

* W. Mark Lynch, from coordinator of secondary reading and middle school language arts to coordinator of secondary reading, English and integrated literacy;

* Jennifer Hernandez, from coordinator of world and classical languages to coordinator of world and classical languages and ESOL.

Eleven Arundel students honored

The Maryland State Department of Education has named 109 Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars for 2008, including 11 from Anne Arundel county.

Each honoree receives a four-year scholarship worth up to $1,500 per year, to be used for undergraduate study at any institution of higher education based on cost of attendance. The scholars were chosen from more than 500 nominees made by public and private high school principals from across the state.

The Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program recognizes exceptionally able students who show promise of continued excellence as they pursue higher education. The local honorees are:

* Margaret Banks, Broadneck High School;

* Andrew Bruninga, Severn School;

* Erin Butler, Archbishop Spalding High School;

* Victoria Jones, Southern High School;

* Elizabeth Mulhern, St. Mary's High School;

* Eric Robinson, Severna Park High School;

* Aakash Shah, Meade High School;

* Peter Thompson, Severna Park High School;

* Saurabh Vyas, Arundel High School;

* Kelsey Wood, Northeast High School;

* Samantha Wood, Chesapeake High School.

39 county students recognized

Earning half of the 78 awards given in Maryland, 39 students from five county high schools have received the Award of Educational Achievement through the Southern Regional Education Board's High Schools That Work program.

Meade High School led the way, with 16 students earning awards. Students from Old Mill High School, Glen Burnie High School, Arundel High School, and North County High School also earned awards after performing well on the 2008 HSTW assessment and completing a college-preparatory course of study.

The HSTW assessment consists of English, mathematics and science, and a student survey. The Southern Regional Education Board then uses the results to give schools and school districts perspective on what may or may not be working to increase student achievement.

This year's AACPS awardees are:

* Meade High School: Waqaas A. Ali; David Y. An; Alan W. Benton; David J. Dote; Hope E. Espinosa; Aaron M. Gibson; Zachary N Godwin; Brenton J. Haliw; Christopher D. Harshbarger; Logan T. Kinney; Anthony E. Laus; Lauren V. Leclercq; Richard A. Paskvan; Ashley T. Price; Tiara S. Watson; and Yahan Wei.

* Old Mill High School: Nykea C. Banton; James N. Brumfield; Christopher Dean; Sean C. Deere; Christina M. Dosch; Brian T. Garland; Ryan P. Gill; Bethany F. Hart; Jennifer M. Miller; Natalie O. Miller; and Benjamin M. Ross

* Glen Burnie High School: Tony J. Chong; Marissa V. Morrill; Mary C. Powell; Sarah N. Rosenwald; and Andrew G. Schillinger

* Arundel High School: Greta M. Dietrich; James D. Hunt; Michael A. Kniffen; and Nicole Y. Redmond

* North County High School: Diana G. Demestihas; Nicholas D. Gilmore; and Andrew J. Glossner.

New AACC official appointed

Anne Arundel Community College has named Felicia L. Patterson of Denver, Colo., as the college's new vice president of learner support services, effective Aug. 11.

She comes to AACC from the Community College of Denver, where she was the executive vice president of student and enrollment services.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.