Names In The News

June 05, 2008

*James M. Culhane is the new chair of pharmaceutical sciences at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland's new School of Pharmacy. He began his job Sunday.

Culhane was an associate professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Wilkes University's Nesbitt School of Pharmacy for the past 10 years.

Culhane, who holds a doctorate in pharmacology and toxicology from West Virginia University's School of Medicine and a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Washington and Jefferson College, has received many honors and awards, including the 2007 Carpenter Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has recognized him five times with its Teacher of the Year Award. He is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics.

*The Greater Baltimore Medical Center's Cancer Center has been renamed the Sandra and Malcolm Berman Cancer Institute after a couple who gave the hospital a $2.6 million gift. A ribbon-cutting ceremony was recently held in their honor.

Now residents of Florida, the Bermans, formerly of Pikesville, have previously given $2.4 million in gifts to the hospital for the development of the Sandra and Malcolm Berman Comprehensive Breast Care Center and for renovations to the Department of Radiation Oncology.

*Howard County General Hospital Intensive Care Unit nurses recently passed the Critical Care Certification Exam given by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses.

They are Ann Chopack, Manjumol Mathew, Srishti Singh and Jane Scanlon.

Other nurses have earned honors as well.

Lauri Martin was appointed nurse manager of the Maternal Child Unit; Alice Massey received Nursing Informatics certification; Lori Davidson became the first nurse at the hospital to receive a certification in Progressive Care; and Victoria Shellem earned her master's in nursing at the University of Maryland, Baltimore in December. She also recently passed her Adult Nurse Practitioner licensing exam given by the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

*Meghan M. Yi from River Hill High School and Timothy B. Marcoux from Glenelg High School are this year's recipients of the Aronson Memorial Award from the physicians at Howard County General Hospital.

The students will each receive a $2,000 scholarship. They were chosen for maintaining the highest grade point average among students participating in at least two varsity sports. The award is named for the late Dr. Barry Aronson, a doctor at the hospital who was an enthusiastic supporter and coach of school sports. The award is given to a graduating male and female student each year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.