All-baltimore City

Girls Lacrosse

June 04, 2008

Player of the Year Dana Cahill Mercy

The senior goalie faced a tough assignment on a struggling team. Her statistics don't come close to showing how strong her talents and efforts were in the nets. Although she gave up an average of 10.5 goals, she faced 330 shots in 16 games and saved 49.1 percent of them.

Her composure was a calming influence for a team that didn't have the kind of experience most other Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference teams had. Mentally tough, focused and active around the crease, she led the Magic in interceptions and ground balls. Cahill, last year's second-team All-Metro goalie, will play next year at Penn State.

Coaches of the Year Wendy Kridel and Kim Simons Bryn Mawr

With only five seniors on the roster, Kridel and Simons fielded one of the youngest teams in the IAAM A Conference and they were in every game. The No. 10 Mawrtians finished 10-7, but they never lost a game by more than four goals. Two of their losses came by single goals to A Conference runner-up No. 3 McDonogh, including one in the tournament quarterfinal.

Kridel, who coached the U.S. under-19 team to the world championship last summer, and Simons, a former head coach at Georgetown, had considerable rebuilding to do after graduating a strong class of nine seniors in 2007.

The team

Name School CL P

Sarah Cole Bryn Mawr Sr. A

Courtney Kirk Roland Park Sr. A

Katie Levy Friends Jr. A

Laura Simanski Roland Park Sr. A

Katie Sullivan Bryn Mawr Sr. A

Lindsay Cooper Friends Jr. M

Kelsey MacDonald Bryn Mawr Jr. M

Sarah Matz Bryn Mawr Jr. M

Libby Nichols Friends Jr. M

Annie Thomas Bryn Mawr Jr. M

Liz Hamilton Roland Park Sr. D

Colleen Shea Seton Keough Sr. D

Sandra Syntax Poly Sr. D

Dana Cahill Mercy Sr. G

Note: Team selected by Katherine Dunn after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.